From the record
One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2020 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2020. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1953.
One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2020 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 29 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 98 fires within 5 miles of Pioneertown Mane Street Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 63,994 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 54 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 11 |
| Natural | 9 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 8 |
| Debris and open burning | 6 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 5 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | San Bernardino Unit | HWY 247 / PIPES CANYON R |
| 3 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 2 September 1998 | Natural | under an acre | California Desert District | VINE |
| 19 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Bernardino Unit | not named |
| 18 September 2008 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 12 September 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Bernardino Unit | LAWN |
| 1 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Bernardino Unit | not named |
| 7 August 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Bernardino Unit | HWY 62 / SAMEL DR 2 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Pioneertown Mane Street Historic District: 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eagle Prospect | Gold | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Pioneertown, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2006 and 2023: 3 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2010 | Flash Flood | Pioneertown | $50,000 | A car was stuck in floodwaters on Old Woman Springs Road at Pipes Canyon Road. Reche Road in Landers was also full of debris. |
| August 2023 | Flash Flood | Pioneertown | $1,000 | Highway 247 was flooded and closed at Pipes Canyon Rd. |
| September 2006 | Flash Flood | Pioneertown | - | A roadway was blocked by flash flooding in Pioneertown just east of Laramie Rd. This flash flood occurred in the Sawtooth-Millard burn area. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| New City of Mentalphysics Historic District | 7.8 miles | 2023 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100005220 in Record Group 79. |
| San Bernardino County | All 98 listed properties in this county. |