From the record
One of 90 National Register listings published here for Riverside County · listed in 2020 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2020. 16 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1901.
One of 90 National Register listings published here for Riverside County · listed in 2020 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 95 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 371 fires within 5 miles of Desert Golf Course between 1992 and 2020, burning about 2,229 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 28 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 214 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 52 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 28 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 22 |
| Smoking | 15 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 15 |
| Natural | 9 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8 |
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 9 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 8 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 18 acres | San Bernardino National Forest | PALM |
| 8 September 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 7 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | San Bernardino National Forest | PALM 2 |
| 6 September 2011 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | San Bernardino National Forest | WINDY |
| 30 September 2011 | Natural | under an acre | San Bernardino National Forest | HIDDEN |
| 30 September 2010 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Desert Golf Course: 1 prospect, 1 past producer, 1 producer, 1 occurrence. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Geothermal, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chino Canyon Deposits | Limestone, General | Occurrence | ||
| Massey Indian Avenue | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Mineral Canyon Nos. 5-7 | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Palm Springs | Geothermal | Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Thomas O'Donnell House | 0.2 miles | 2011 |
![]() | Palm Springs Desert Museum | 0.2 miles | 2016 |
![]() | Fire Station No. 1 | 0.3 miles | 2015 |
![]() | Frey House II | 0.3 miles | 2015 |
| Plaza Theatre | 0.4 miles | 2025 | |
![]() | Kocher-Samson Building | 0.5 miles | 2015 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100005813 in Record Group 79. |
| Riverside County | All 90 listed properties in this county. |