From the record
One of 90 National Register listings published here for Riverside County · listed in 2011 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2011. 16 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1901.
One of 90 National Register listings published here for Riverside County · listed in 2011 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 95 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 369 fires within 5 miles of Thomas O'Donnell House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 2,229 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 28 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 213 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 53 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 28 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 22 |
| Smoking | 15 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 13 |
| Natural | 9 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8 |
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 9 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 8 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 18 acres | San Bernardino National Forest | PALM |
| 8 September 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 7 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | San Bernardino National Forest | PALM 2 |
| 6 September 2011 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | San Bernardino National Forest | WINDY |
| 30 September 2011 | Natural | under an acre | San Bernardino National Forest | HIDDEN |
| 30 September 2010 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of Thomas O'Donnell House: 2 past producers, 1 prospect, 1 producer, 1 occurrence. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Iron, Geothermal, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chino Canyon Deposits | Limestone, General | Occurrence | ||
| Mineral Canyon Nos. 5-7 | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Palm Springs | Geothermal | Producer | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Massey Indian Avenue | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Palm Springs Desert Museum | under 500 feet | 2016 |
| Desert Golf Course | 0.2 miles | 2020 | |
![]() | Frey House II | 0.2 miles | 2015 |
| Plaza Theatre | 0.2 miles | 2025 | |
![]() | Fire Station No. 1 | 0.3 miles | 2015 |
![]() | Santa Fe Federal Savings and Loan Association | 0.4 miles | 2016 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 10001123 in Record Group 79. |
| Riverside County | All 90 listed properties in this county. |