From the record
One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2021 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2021. 18 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.
One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 2021 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 85 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 248 fires within 5 miles of Ontario Baseball Park between 1992 and 2020, burning about 3,400 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 32 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 142 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 32 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 22 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 20 |
| Smoking | 18 |
| Debris and open burning | 11 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Bernardino Unit | not named |
| 9 September 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | San Bernardino Unit | not named |
| 9 September 1994 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 110 acres | San Bernardino National Forest | AMETHYST |
| 7 September 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 6 September 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 5 September 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 4 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | San Bernardino Unit | not named |
| 4 September 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Ontario Baseball Park: 8 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gold, Gold, Silver. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elmira | Gold | Past Producer | ||
| Upland South Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gold, Silver | Past Producer | ||
| Campus Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Claremont Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Upland Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Upland Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Upland Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Upland Pit and Mill | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ontario, the town this property stands in, in 7 storm reports between 2004 and 2025: 2 flash flood, 2 flood, 2 heavy rain, 1 lightning. The reports record 3 deaths and 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 2022 | Flash Flood | Ontario | 3 killed | Ontario Fire department reported 6 person in the swiftwater channel in John Galvin park where the channel begins near I-10. Rainfall rates of 0.50 to 0.75 inches per hour had occurred from 7 am to 9 am in Ontario and Rancho Cucamonga. 3 persons were rescued. 3 more person were later found drowned in a retaining pond which was filled 15 to 20 feet high with storm runoff water. The bodies were not found until several days later due the water being too deep and low visibility. Multiple agencies were involved in the week long recovery efforts. The channel runs south past Ontario airport to where it reached the storage collection ponds on East Philadelphia Street. Search and rescue in Cucamonga Channel reported by CalOES and Ontario Fire Department. As many as 10 people experiencing homelessness were swept away as a surge of water occurred following 2 hours of heavy rain. Five people were immediately rescued, one person immediately reported deceased, with two additional bodies recovered (one of November 14, the other on November 16). |
| January 2005 | Lightning | Ontario | 1 hurt, $15,000 | no account filed |
| February 2025 | Heavy Rain | Ontario | - | Trained spotter reported 2.70 inches of cumulative rainfall since morning of 2/12/25. |
| November 2022 | Flood | Ontario | - | Flooding was reported across the Inland Empire on November as widespread rain fell. The Department of Highways reported flooding at SR-60 West and the Phillips Ranch Road offramp in the morning, with an additional report of two vehicles stuck in flood waters after attempting to drive through a closed off ramp onto Euclid. |
| December 2021 | Heavy Rain | Ontario | - | Mesonet station GW0529 in Ontario reports 3.59 inches of rain in the past 24 hours. |
| May 2016 | Flood | Ontario | - | CHP reported flooding with debris in the roadway at the 4th St. on ramp to Interstate 10. |
| November 2004 | Flash Flood | Ontario | - | no account filed |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Frankish Building | 1.6 miles | 1980 |
![]() | Ontario State Bank Block | 1.7 miles | 1982 |
![]() | Dr. Orville S. Ensign House | 1.8 miles | 2012 |
![]() | Upland Public Library | 2.0 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Old San Antonio Hospital | 2.4 miles | 1980 |
![]() | John Rains House | 2.6 miles | 1973 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100006913 in Record Group 79. |
| San Bernardino County | All 98 listed properties in this county. |