BlockBefore
Photograph of Frankish Building
Photograph by Einbierbitte, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Frankish Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. 18 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.

From the record

“The Frankish Building is a historic building located at 200 South Euclid Avenue in Ontario, California. Charles Frankish and his son designed and supervised the construction of the building in 1915-16.”

Wikipedia article Frankish Building, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 98 National Register listings published here for San Bernardino County · listed in 1980 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 200 S. Euclid Ave., Ontario, 91762
  • When was it listed? August 1980
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Ontario
  • Architectural style. Renaissance Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 80000839 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1897 to 1982

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 85 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Frankish Building, surveyed 1982
Topographic sheet covering Frankish Building, surveyed 1897

Fires near this property

269 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 269 fires within 5 miles of Frankish Building between 1992 and 2020, burning about 271 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 33 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined158
Arson/incendiarism33
Equipment and vehicle use23
Misuse of fire by a minor22
Smoking18
Debris and open burning11
Natural3
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSan Bernardino Unitnot named
7 September 2006Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named
6 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named
5 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named
5 September 2005Arson/incendiarismunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named
4 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresSan Bernardino Unitnot named
4 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCalifornia Department of Forestry & Fire Protectionnot named
30 September 2020Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Bernardino Unitnot named

Every fire recorded in San Bernardino County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Frankish Building: 8 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gold, Gold, Silver. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
ElmiraGoldPast Producer
Upland South PitSand and Gravel, Construction, Gold, SilverPast Producer
Campus PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Claremont PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Upland PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Upland PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Upland PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Upland Pit and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in San Bernardino County

Storms near this property

7 since 2004

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ontario, the town this property stands in, in 7 storm reports between 2004 and 2025: 2 flash flood, 2 flood, 2 heavy rain, 1 lightning. The reports record 3 deaths and 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
November 2022Flash FloodOntario3 killedOntario Fire department reported 6 person in the swiftwater channel in John Galvin park where the channel begins near I-10. Rainfall rates of 0.50 to 0.75 inches per hour had occurred from 7 am to 9 am in Ontario and Rancho Cucamonga. 3 persons were rescued. 3 more person were later found drowned in a retaining pond which was filled 15 to 20 feet high with storm runoff water. The bodies were not found until several days later due the water being too deep and low visibility. Multiple agencies were involved in the week long recovery efforts. The channel runs south past Ontario airport to where it reached the storage collection ponds on East Philadelphia Street. Search and rescue in Cucamonga Channel reported by CalOES and Ontario Fire Department. As many as 10 people experiencing homelessness were swept away as a surge of water occurred following 2 hours of heavy rain. Five people were immediately rescued, one person immediately reported deceased, with two additional bodies recovered (one of November 14, the other on November 16).
January 2005LightningOntario1 hurt, $15,000no account filed
February 2025Heavy RainOntario-Trained spotter reported 2.70 inches of cumulative rainfall since morning of 2/12/25.
November 2022FloodOntario-Flooding was reported across the Inland Empire on November as widespread rain fell. The Department of Highways reported flooding at SR-60 West and the Phillips Ranch Road offramp in the morning, with an additional report of two vehicles stuck in flood waters after attempting to drive through a closed off ramp onto Euclid.
December 2021Heavy RainOntario-Mesonet station GW0529 in Ontario reports 3.59 inches of rain in the past 24 hours.
May 2016FloodOntario-CHP reported flooding with debris in the roadway at the 4th St. on ramp to Interstate 10.
November 2004Flash FloodOntario-no account filed

Every storm recorded in San Bernardino County

Maps showing this location

18 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Ontario State Bank Blockunder 500 feet1982
Dr. Orville S. Ensign House0.2 miles2012
Ontario Baseball Park1.6 miles2021
Euclid Avenue2.0 miles2005
Upland Public Library2.5 miles1990
Old San Antonio Hospital2.6 miles1980

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 80000839 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
San Bernardino CountyAll 98 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.