BlockBefore
Photograph of Paso Robles Carnegie Library
Photograph by Ken Figlioli, CC BY-SA 2.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Paso Robles Carnegie Library

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1919.

From the record

“The Paso Robles Carnegie Library is a Carnegie library located in Paso Robles City Park in Paso Robles, California. The library was built from 1907 to 1908 through a $10,000 grant from the Carnegie Foundation.”

Wikipedia article Paso Robles Carnegie Library, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 32 National Register listings published here for San Luis Obispo County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Robles, Paso, Carnegie Library - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. City Park, 800 12th St., Paso Robles, 93446
  • When was it listed? January 1998
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. California Carnegie Libraries MPS
  • Census division. Paso Robles
  • Architectural style. Neoclassical architecture
  • National Register reference number. 97001635 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1919 to 1989

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 70 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Paso Robles Carnegie Library, surveyed 1989
Topographic sheet covering Paso Robles Carnegie Library, surveyed 1919

Fires near this property

480 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 480 fires within 5 miles of Paso Robles Carnegie Library between 1992 and 2020, burning about 896 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined231
Equipment and vehicle use166
Debris and open burning35
Misuse of fire by a minor16
Smoking12
Arson/incendiarism7
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Recreation and ceremony3
Natural2
Other causes2
Railroad operations and maintenance2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitWELLSONA
9 September 2004Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitEUREKA
9 September 2001Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresSan Luis Obispo UnitHANSON
8 September 2006Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresSan Luis Obispo UnitCRESTON
7 September 2014Other causesunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitRIVER
7 September 1995Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSan Luis Obispo UnitSLU-3093
6 September 2004Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresSan Luis Obispo Unit101
6 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresSan Luis Obispo UnitSLU 3113

Every fire recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Mines and quarries near this property

9 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Paso Robles Carnegie Library: 8 producers, 1 past producer. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Manganese, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Mountain Springs QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Thompson DepositManganeseProducer
12th Street PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Branch PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Miller Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Munari Salinas River PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
North River Road PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Paso Pit and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Slash Bar G Ranch PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Storms near this property

3 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Paso Robles, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2002 and 2024: 2 flash flood, 1 wildfire. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 2002WildfirePaso Robles$290,000A wildfire burned 715 acres of forest in San Luis Obispo County, about 12 miles east of Paso Robles. The fire cost about $290,000 to fight, but resulted in no deaths or injuries.
February 2024Flash FloodPaso Robles-Swift water rescue teams rescued three people from the Salinas River.
February 2024Flash FloodPaso Robles-Flash flooding resulted in the closure of a section of Buena Vista Drive, near Paso Robles.

Every storm recorded in San Luis Obispo County

Maps showing this location

11 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

5 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Bank of Italy0.1 miles1998
Call-Booth House0.3 miles1988
Paso Robles Almond Growers Association Warehouse0.4 miles2016
Brewster-Dutra House0.6 miles1982
Caledonia Adobe7.8 miles1971

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 97001635 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
San Luis Obispo CountyAll 32 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.