Hill 'n Dale, Florida
14 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1954 and the latest in 1979. It stands in the Brooksville census division. It lies in ZIP code area 34602. The Survey maps it on the Brooksville SE quadrangle. 2,212 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 108 feet above sea level.
Then and now
1954 to 1979The same ground, surveyed 25 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Compare 1954 against another survey:
Population over time
3 figuresHill 'n Dale grew from 1,436 to 2,212 between 2000 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 1,436 | |
| 2010 | 1,934 | +498 (+35%) |
| 2020 | 2,212 | +278 (+14%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 14 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1954 USGS Brooksville SE quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1955 USGS Plant City quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1955 USGS Tarpon Springs quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Plant City quadrangle1:250000
- 1959 USGS Plant City quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Plant City quadrangle1:250000
- 1979 USGS Inverness quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
165 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 165 fires within 5 miles of Hill 'n Dale between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,656 acres in total. 18 started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 37 |
| Debris and open burning | 31 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 25 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 20 |
| Natural | 18 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 16 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 7 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Smoking | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 September 2007 | Natural | 5.0 acres | Florida Forest Service | 27/WALMART FIRE/1119 |
| 27 September 1996 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 1.5 acres | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 26 September 2014 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | EAGLE FALLS (27) |
| 11 September 1997 | Railroad operations and maintenance | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 8 August 2000 | Railroad operations and maintenance | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 7 August 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | 27/SOULT RD FIRE/0946 |
| 20 August 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.5 acres | Florida Forest Service | 27/ST CLAIR ISLAND FIRE/0915 |
| 1 August 1998 | Natural | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
1 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Hill 'n Dale: 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claire H. Clements - Master Tract Mine | Sand | Unknown |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spring Lake | 1.8 miles | 15 | |
| Conrock | 3.3 miles | 14 | |
| Rital | 4.3 miles | 14 | |
| Tooke Lake Junction | 4.7 miles | 16 | |
| Brooksville | 5.3 miles | 16 | |
| South Brooksville | 5.5 miles | 16 | |
| Dixie | 5.8 miles | 15 | |
| Croom | 6.0 miles | 14 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Hill 'n Dale | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q2570687 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 300931. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.






