BlockBefore
Photograph of Butner-Mctyre General Store
Photograph by RudyTravis, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Butner-Mctyre General Store

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006.

From the record

One of 48 National Register listings published here for Cobb County · listed in 2006 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Butner--Mctyre General Store - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 4455 Marietta St., Powder Springs, 30127
  • When was it listed? February 2006
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Powder Springs
  • National Register reference number. 05001593 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

130 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 130 fires within 5 miles of Butner-Mctyre General Store between 1992 and 2019, burning about 227 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 34 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning59
Arson/incendiarism34
Missing data/not specified/undetermined13
Railroad operations and maintenance8
Misuse of fire by a minor6
Natural4
Equipment and vehicle use4
Smoking1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 2018Arson/incendiarismunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2019PAULDING002
4 September 2007Arson/incendiarismunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
25 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1997Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
12 September 1993Debris and open burning1.0 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
1 September 1996Arson/incendiarismunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
8 August 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
30 August 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2017-PAULDING-004

Every fire recorded in Cobb County

Storms near this property

3 since 1993

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Powder Springs, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 1993 and 1997: 3 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 1993HailPowder Springs-Golfball-size hail accumulated to a depth of 4 inches.
April 1997HailPowder Springs-no account filed
June 1994HailPowder Springs-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Cobb County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Clarkdale Historic District2.7 miles1987
Andrew J. Cheney House4.2 miles1979
Israel Causey House5.1 miles1975
William Gibbs McAdoo House5.7 miles1978
Midway Presbyterian Church and Cemetery5.9 miles1986
Robert Mable House and Cemetery6.7 miles1988

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 05001593 in Record Group 79.
Cobb CountyAll 48 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.