BlockBefore

Clarkdale Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.

From the record

One of 48 National Register listings published here for Cobb County · listed in 1987 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Powder Springs-Austell Rd., Clarkdale, 30106
  • When was it listed? December 1987
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Austell
  • National Register reference number. 87002134 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

65 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 65 fires within 5 miles of Clarkdale Historic District between 1992 and 2018, burning about 208 acres in total. 5 started naturally. 19 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning24
Arson/incendiarism19
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Natural5
Recreation and ceremony3
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Smoking2
Equipment and vehicle use1
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1997Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
12 September 1993Debris and open burning1.0 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
27 August 1993Arson/incendiarism6.4 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
19 August 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
17 August 2007Natural1.8 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
9 July 2016Debris and open burning1.5 acresGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2017-PAULDING-002
31 July 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Cobb County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Clarkdale Historic District: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Lithia Springs QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer

Every working recorded in Cobb County

Storms near this property

1 since 2012

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Clarkdale, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2012: 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
April 2012HailClarkdale-The public reported quarter sized hail from near Powder Springs to Pair Road.

Every storm recorded in Cobb County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Israel Causey House2.5 miles1975
Butner-Mctyre General Store2.7 miles2006
Andrew J. Cheney House4.3 miles1979
Robert Mable House and Cemetery4.6 miles1988
John W. Rice Summer Cottage5.6 miles1983
Ruff's Mill and Concord Covered Bridge5.6 miles1980

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 87002134 in Record Group 79.
Cobb CountyAll 48 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.