From the record
One of 107 National Register listings published here for Hawaii County · listed in 1973 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
One of 107 National Register listings published here for Hawaii County · listed in 1973 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 27 fires within 5 miles of Kealakekua Bay Historical District between 2004 and 2012, burning about 7 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 27 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | County of Hawai'i | not named |
| 3 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | County of Hawai'i | not named |
| 11 August 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | County of Hawai'i | not named |
| 2 July 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | County of Hawai'i | not named |
| 18 July 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | County of Hawai'i | not named |
| 23 April 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | County of Hawai'i | not named |
| 6 March 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | County of Hawai'i | not named |
| 27 March 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | County of Hawai'i | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Captain Cook, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 1997 and 2021: 4 heavy rain, 2 flood, 2 flash flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 2007 | Flash Flood | Captain Cook | - | Heavy rain in the southwest part of the Big Island of Hawaii, in the South Kona District, produced flash flooding conditions as landslides and water closed two segments of the Hawaii Belt Road south of Captain Cook. |Several homes were also damaged in the flooding. |
| January 1997 | Flood | Captain Cook | - | A stationary band of heavy showers produced widespread flooding of streets and low lying areas from Captain Cook to Kailua-Kona and in the Waikoloa Village area of South Kohala. |
| July 2021 | Flash Flood | Captain Cook | - | no account filed |
| November 2021 | Heavy Rain | Captain Cook | - | no account filed |
| August 2021 | Heavy Rain | Captain Cook | - | no account filed |
| February 2020 | Heavy Rain | Captain Cook | - | no account filed |
| July 2005 | Heavy Rain | Captain Cook | - | no account filed |
| February 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Captain Cook | - | no account filed |
| March 1997 | Flood | Captain Cook | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Uchida Coffee Farm | 1.4 miles | 1995 |
![]() | Daifukuji Soto Zen Mission | 1.5 miles | 1994 |
![]() | Kahikolu Church | 2.1 miles | 1982 |
![]() | Greenwell Store | 2.7 miles | 1978 |
![]() | St. Benedict's Catholic Church | 3.2 miles | 1979 |
![]() | Keauhou Holua Slide | 6.5 miles | 1966 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 73000651 in Record Group 79. |
| Hawaii County | All 107 listed properties in this county. |