BlockBefore
Photograph of Daifukuji Soto Zen Mission
Photograph by W Nowicki, CC BY 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Daifukuji Soto Zen Mission

Built in 1921. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1994.

From the record

One of 107 National Register listings published here for Hawaii County · listed in 1994 · category: Building · built in 1921.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Mamalahoa Hwy., Honalo, 96704
  • When was it listed? April 1994
  • Category. building
  • Census division. South Kona
  • When was it built? 1921
  • National Register reference number. 94000382 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

28 since 2004

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 28 fires within 5 miles of Daifukuji Soto Zen Mission between 2004 and 2012, burning about 7 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined28

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Hawai'inot named
3 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresCounty of Hawai'inot named
11 August 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Hawai'inot named
2 July 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Hawai'inot named
18 July 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Hawai'inot named
5 May 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Hawai'inot named
23 April 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Hawai'inot named
6 March 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCounty of Hawai'inot named

Every fire recorded in Hawaii County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Uchida Coffee Farm1.1 miles1995
Kealakekua Bay Historical District1.5 miles1973
Kahikolu Church1.8 miles1982
Greenwell Store2.4 miles1978
St. Benedict's Catholic Church3.3 miles1979
Keauhou Holua Slide6.5 miles1966

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 94000382 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Hawaii CountyAll 107 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.