BlockBefore
Photograph of Makapuu Point Light
Photograph by Kaleismith, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

U.S. Coast Guard Makapuu Point Light

Built in 1909. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977.

From the record

One of 154 National Register listings published here for Honolulu County · listed in 1977 · category: Structure · built in 1909.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. SE of Waimanalo off Kalanianaole Hwy., Waimanalo, 96795
  • When was it listed? December 1977
  • Category. structure
  • Census division. Koolaupoko
  • When was it built? 1909
  • National Register reference number. 77000447 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

223 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 223 fires within 5 miles of U.S. Coast Guard Makapuu Point Light between 2001 and 2013, burning about 703 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined223

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
7 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
7 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
4 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
30 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
30 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresCity and County of Honolulunot named
3 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named
29 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCity and County of Honolulunot named

Every fire recorded in Honolulu County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of U.S. Coast Guard Makapuu Point Light: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Calcium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Waimanalo Quarry and MillCalciumPast Producer

Every working recorded in Honolulu County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
J.B. Guard House4.5 miles2015
Henry J. and Alyce Kaiser Estate4.8 miles2019
Dilks Property6.5 miles2016

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 77000447 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Honolulu CountyAll 154 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.