BlockBefore
Photograph of Gehlen House and Barn
Photograph by Jim Roberts, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Gehlen House and Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.

From the record

One of 77 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 1979 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. U.S. 52, St. Donatus, 52071
  • When was it listed? June 1979
  • Category. building
  • Township. Tete Des Morts township
  • National Register reference number. 79000901 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

13 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 13 fires within 5 miles of Gehlen House and Barn between 2007 and 2020, burning about 72 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning9
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Equipment and vehicle use1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 April 2014Debris and open burning4.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 April 2020Debris and open burning4.2 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 April 2020Debris and open burning4.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 April 2015Equipment and vehicle use3.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
3 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
24 April 2018Debris and open burning12 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
23 April 2018Debris and open burning1.0 acresIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
20 April 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIowa Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Jackson County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 19 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 19 workings within 5 miles of Gehlen House and Barn: 9 past producers, 4 occurrences, 3 unknowns, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Lead, Zinc, Zinc, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bullfrog MineZinc, LeadPast Producer
Dubuque Sand and Gravel DredgeSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
OutcropPhosphorus-PhosphatesPast Producer
Betsy MineZinc, LeadUnknown1908, 1913
Merry Widow MineZinc, LeadUnknown1907, 1917
Ten Strike MineZinc, LeadUnknownSphalerite
Tete Des Morts DiggingsLeadPast Producer
Betsy MineLead, ZincPast Producer
Bullfrog MineLead, ZincPast Producer
Franks QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer

Every working recorded in Jackson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Village of St. Donatus Historic District0.1 miles1989
Fritz Chapel5.1 miles1991
Theodore Niemann House and Spring House5.3 miles1991
Robb House and Spring House5.5 miles1991
Henry Roling House5.7 miles1991
Harris Wagon and Carriage Shop6.1 miles1992

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 79000901 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Jackson CountyAll 77 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.