From the record
One of 77 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 1989 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989.
One of 77 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 1989 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 13 fires within 5 miles of Village of St. Donatus Historic District between 2007 and 2020, burning about 72 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 9 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 April 2014 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 8 April 2020 | Debris and open burning | 4.2 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 8 April 2020 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 6 April 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 3 April 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 20 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 24 April 2018 | Debris and open burning | 12 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 23 April 2018 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 20 April 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Iowa Department of Natural Resources | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 20 workings within 5 miles of Village of St. Donatus Historic District: 10 past producers, 4 occurrences, 3 unknowns, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Lead, Zinc, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Zinc, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bullfrog Mine | Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Dubuque Sand and Gravel Dredge | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Outcrop | Phosphorus-Phosphates | Past Producer | ||
| Betsy Mine | Zinc, Lead | Unknown | 1908, 1913 | |
| Merry Widow Mine | Zinc, Lead | Unknown | 1907, 1917 | |
| Ten Strike Mine | Zinc, Lead | Unknown | Sphalerite | |
| Tete Des Morts Diggings | Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Franks Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Limestone Prospect | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Occurrence | ||
| Limestone Prospect | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Occurrence |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Gehlen House and Barn | 0.1 miles | 1979 |
![]() | Fritz Chapel | 5.2 miles | 1991 |
| Theodore Niemann House and Spring House | 5.4 miles | 1991 | |
![]() | Robb House and Spring House | 5.6 miles | 1991 |
![]() | Henry Roling House | 5.8 miles | 1991 |
![]() | Harris Wagon and Carriage Shop | 6.2 miles | 1992 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 89001870 in Record Group 79. |
| Jackson County | All 77 listed properties in this county. |