BlockBefore
Photograph of Fred and Minnie Raber Farm
Photograph by Nyttend, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Fred and Minnie Raber Farm

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“Fred and Minnie Raber Farm, also known as the Raber-Hasselbring-Shaffer Farm and Raber-Robbins Farm, is a historic home and farm and national historic district located in Deer Creek Township, Carroll County, Indiana. The house was built in 1904-1905, and is a large brick veneer frame dwelling with elements of Queen Anne and Colonial Revival style design.”

Wikipedia article Fred and Minnie Raber Farm, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 37 National Register listings published here for Carroll County · listed in 1992 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 3 buildingss, 3 structuress, 1 site as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Raber, Fred and Minnie, Farm - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. IN 218 E of Co. Rd. 425 W, Camden, 46923
  • When was it listed? September 1992
  • Category. district
  • Township. Deer Creek township
  • National Register reference number. 92001169 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

The ground it stands on

11,192 words

This property stands in Deer Creek Township. History of Carroll County, Indiana : With Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of Some of Its Prominent Men and Pioneers ..., published 1882; History of Carroll County Indiana, published 1916 gives that township a chapter of its own.

The chapter covers the township.

Machine-read from a century-old scan, so expect the errors a machine makes: misspelled names, dropped words, stray characters.

Read the whole chapter on Deer Creek Township - 11,192 words on its settlement, mills, schools and churches.

Fires near this property

2 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2 fires within 5 miles of Fred and Minnie Raber Farm in 2007, burning about 1 acre in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning1
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 August 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
22 May 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreIndiana State Fire Marshal's Officenot named

Every fire recorded in Carroll County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Fred and Minnie Raber Farm: 3 producers, 1 occurrence. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Lead, Zinc, Sulfur. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Delphi Limestone QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Sphalerite Occurrence Z55Lead, Zinc, SulfurOccurrenceSphalerite
Munson PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Wallace PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Carroll County

Storms near this property

11 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Camden, the town this property stands in, in 11 storm reports between 1997 and 2022: 8 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood, 1 hail, 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
February 2006Thunderstorm WindCamden$3,000Highway signs downed.
May 2019Thunderstorm WindCamden$2,000Power lines were down across a home due to damaging thunderstorm wind gusts.
May 2010Flash FloodCamden$750A portion of State Road 218 in Camden was reported to be covered in water.
June 2017FloodCamden$250Minor street flooding was observed in this location due to heavy rainfall.
March 2022Thunderstorm WindCamden-Thunderstorm gust observed at County Roads 500 North and 225 East. Hail about 0.5 inches in diameter lasted about 5 minutes. Winds blew down a 2 inch limb from a healthy hardwood tree on North Monroe Street in Camden.
August 2012HailCamden-The hail fell for three minutes.
June 2008Thunderstorm WindCamden-Trees were knocked down due to damaging thunderstorm winds.
June 2006Thunderstorm WindCamden-Trees were downed.
August 2004Thunderstorm WindCamden-Trees were downed at a residence.
May 2000Thunderstorm WindCamden-no account filed
March 1997Thunderstorm WindCamden-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Carroll County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Wilson Bridge1.4 miles2001
Deer Creek Valley Rural Historic District1.8 miles2002
Camden Masonic Temple3.3 miles2003
Andrew Thomas House3.3 miles1984
Baum-Shaeffer Farm3.4 miles1998
Camden First Baptist Church3.4 miles2023

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 92001169 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Carroll CountyAll 37 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.