BlockBefore
Photograph of Ghent Historic District
Photograph by Nyttend, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Ghent Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.

From the record

“The Ghent Historic District in Ghent, Kentucky is a 63-acre (25 ha) historic district which was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983.”

Wikipedia article Ghent Historic District (Ghent, Kentucky), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 11 National Register listings published here for Carroll County · listed in 1983 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

Fires near this property

1 since 2004

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 1 fire within 5 miles of Ghent Historic District in 2004, burning about 2 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
28 February 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named

Every fire recorded in Carroll County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Ghent Historic District: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Switzerland Co. Hwy. Dept.Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Carroll County

Storms near this property

7 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ghent, the town this property stands in, in 7 storm reports between 1998 and 2020: 4 hail, 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
November 1998Thunderstorm WindGhent$3,000Trees down.
May 2020Thunderstorm WindGhent$2,000A tree was downed onto some power lines.
April 2020HailGhent-Quarter to near golf ball sized hail was reported.
June 2002Flash FloodGhent-Several creeks and streams went out of their banks across the southern part of the county. High water was reported on a couple of roads.
June 2015HailGhent-no account filed
June 2009HailGhent-no account filed
April 2006HailGhent-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Carroll County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Henry Ogburn House5.1 miles1987
Grass Hills5.2 miles1975
Richard Masterson House6.0 miles1975
Richlawn Farm6.2 miles2000
Gen. William O. Butler House7.3 miles1976
Turpin House7.4 miles1977

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 83002623 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Carroll CountyAll 11 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.