BlockBefore
Photograph of Aloys Bilz House
Photograph by rossograph, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Aloys Bilz House

Built in 1872 (Italianate architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.

From the record

“The Aloys Bilz House is a private house located at 107 South Division Street in Spring Lake, Michigan. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.”

Wikipedia article Aloys Bilz House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 29 National Register listings published here for Ottawa County · listed in 1987 · category: Building · built in 1872, Italianate architecture.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Bilz, Aloys, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 107 S. Division St., Spring Lake, 49456
  • When was it listed? December 1987
  • Category. building
  • Township. Spring Lake township
  • When was it built? 1872
  • Architectural style. Italianate architecture
  • National Register reference number. 87002139 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

34 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 34 fires within 5 miles of Aloys Bilz House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 52 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined17
Equipment and vehicle use5
Recreation and ceremony4
Debris and open burning4
Smoking1
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Arson/incendiarism1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesSPRING LAKE TOWNSHIP FD 20066 - 2020
13 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCROCKERY TOWNSHIP FD 19385 - 2019
7 August 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND HAVEN DPS 191309 - 2019
7 August 2018Recreation and ceremony1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesNORTON SHORES FD 0001666 - 2018
6 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.9 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
3 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND HAVEN TWP FIRE/RESCUE 19900 - 2019
14 August 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.5 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
9 July 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesFERRYSBURG FD 19131 - 2019

Every fire recorded in Ottawa County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Aloys Bilz House: 5 producers, 3 past producers. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Construction Aggregates Corp PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Construction Aggregates Corp PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
J V Burkett Construction Co. PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Ferrysburg SiteSilicaProducerSedimentary
Holiday Hills SiteSilicaPast ProducerSedimentary
North Sag SiteSilicaPast ProducerSedimentary
Rosy MoundSilicaProducerSedimentary
Rycenga SiteSilicaProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Ottawa County

Storms near this property

8 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Spring Lake, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 1997 and 2025: 7 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. The reports record 1 death and 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2008Thunderstorm WindSpring Lake1 killed, 1 hurtA two foot diameter tree fell on a car in motion in Spring Lake. As a result the driver was killed and the passenger incurred minor injuries.
June 2024Thunderstorm WindSpring Lake$100,000Several trees were blown down in the Spring Lake and Grand Haven areas.
August 2000Thunderstorm WindSpring Lake$100,000no account filed
May 1998Thunderstorm WindSpring Lake$25,000Several large trees and power lines downed in the cities of Ferrysburg, Spring Lake, and Spring Lake Township.
April 1997Thunderstorm WindSpring Lake$15,000no account filed
September 1997Thunderstorm WindSpring Lake$5,000Trees and power lines were downed in Spring Lake. Consumers Energy reported 300 customers in the Tri-Cities, Fruitport, and Coopersville areas lost power because of downed trees and wires.
May 2025Thunderstorm WindSpring Lake-Spring Lake Yacht Club measured wind.
April 2016HailSpring Lake-Quarter sized hail was reported near Spring Lake.

Every storm recorded in Ottawa County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 87002139 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Ottawa CountyAll 29 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.