BlockBefore
Photograph of Fruitport Road-Pettys Bayou Bridge
Photograph by rossograph, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Fruitport Road-Pettys Bayou Bridge

Built in 1948. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.

From the record

“The Fruitport Road-Pettys Bayou Bridge, also known as the Bowen Bridge, is a multiple span bridge carrying Fruitport Road over Petty's Bayou in Spring Lake Township, Michigan.”

Wikipedia article Fruitport Road-Pettys Bayou Bridge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 29 National Register listings published here for Ottawa County · listed in 1999 · category: Structure · built in 1948, by Michigan Department of Transportation.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Fruitport Road--Pettys Bayou Bridge - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Fruitport Rd. over Pettys Bayou, Spring Lake Township, 49456
  • When was it listed? December 1999
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Highway Bridges of Michigan MPS
  • Township. Spring Lake township
  • When was it built? 1948
  • Architect. Michigan Department of Transportation
  • National Register reference number. 99001535 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

38 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 38 fires within 5 miles of Fruitport Road-Pettys Bayou Bridge between 1992 and 2020, burning about 58 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined17
Equipment and vehicle use9
Debris and open burning5
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking1
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Arson/incendiarism1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesSPRING LAKE TOWNSHIP FD 20066 - 2020
13 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCROCKERY TOWNSHIP FD 19385 - 2019
7 August 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND HAVEN DPS 191309 - 2019
7 August 2018Recreation and ceremony1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesNORTON SHORES FD 0001666 - 2018
6 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.9 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
3 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesGRAND HAVEN TWP FIRE/RESCUE 19900 - 2019
9 July 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesFERRYSBURG FD 19131 - 2019
9 July 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesNORTON SHORES FD 0001428 - 2018

Every fire recorded in Ottawa County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Fruitport Road-Pettys Bayou Bridge: 4 past producers, 4 producers. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Construction Aggregates Corp PitClayPast Producer
Construction Aggregates Corp PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
J V Burkett Construction Co. PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Ferrysburg SiteSilicaProducerSedimentary
Holiday Hills SiteSilicaPast ProducerSedimentary
North Sag SiteSilicaPast ProducerSedimentary
Rosy MoundSilicaProducerSedimentary
Rycenga SiteSilicaProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Ottawa County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 99001535 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Ottawa CountyAll 29 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.