BlockBefore
Photograph of Ninth District Lighthouse Depot
Photograph by Teemu08, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Ninth District Lighthouse Depot

Built in 1891. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.

From the record

“The Ninth District Lighthouse Depot is a collection of historic structures located at 1 Lighthouse Lane in St. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.”

Wikipedia article Ninth District Lighthouse Depot, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 32 National Register listings published here for Berrien County · listed in 1993 · category: District · built in 1891.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 4 buildingss, 2 structuress, 1 site, 1 object as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 128 N. Pier, St. Joseph, 49101
  • When was it listed? December 1993
  • Category. district
  • Township. Baroda township
  • When was it built? 1891
  • National Register reference number. 93001348 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

11 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 11 fires within 5 miles of Ninth District Lighthouse Depot between 2018 and 2020, burning about 12 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Equipment and vehicle use4
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
12 September 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBERRIEN SPRINGS-ORONOKO FD 0000127 - 2019
16 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBARODA FD 0000041 - 2019
11 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBARODA FD 0000040 - 2019
11 July 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWEESAW TOWNSHIP FD 18-0024 - 2018
13 May 2020Recreation and ceremony1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesLINCOLN TOWNSHIP 80 - 2020
6 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBARODA FD 0000021 - 2019
21 March 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesWEESAW TOWNSHIP FD 20-0010 - 2020
19 March 2019Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesBERRIEN SPRINGS-ORONOKO FD 0000035 - 2019

Every fire recorded in Berrien County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Ninth District Lighthouse Depot: 3 producers, 3 past producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Barrien County PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Bridgman Pit & Mill Manley BrosSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Bridgman Pit & Mill/Martin-MariettaSilicaProducer
Garage SiteSilicaPast ProducerSedimentary
North Bridgman PitSilicaPast ProducerSedimentary
South Bridgman SiteSilicaPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Berrien County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Avery Road-Galien River Bridge5.4 miles1999
Old Berrien County Courthoue Complex7.5 miles1982
Berrien Springs Courthouse7.6 miles1970

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 93001348 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Berrien CountyAll 32 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.