BlockBefore

Oheyawahe-Pilot Knob

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017.

From the record

“Oheyawahi-Pilot Knob is a scenic overlook, and a Native American gathering place and burial ground in Mendota Heights, Minnesota, United States. The overlook provides views of the confluence of the Minnesota and Mississippi Rivers, Fort Snelling, and the Minneapolis and St.”

Wikipedia article Oheyawahi-Pilot Knob, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 40 National Register listings published here for Dakota County · listed in 2017 · category: Site.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. off MN 55, Mendota Heights, 55120
  • When was it listed? March 2017
  • Category. site
  • City. Mendota Heights city
  • National Register reference number. 03001374 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

59 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 59 fires within 5 miles of Oheyawahe-Pilot Knob between 1998 and 2019, burning about 1,262 acres in total. None started naturally. 10 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Recreation and ceremony32
Arson/incendiarism10
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Railroad operations and maintenance8
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
24 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Valley National Wildlife RefugeBOARDWALK
26 August 2011Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Valley National Wildlife RefugeBASS PONDS 3
20 August 2008Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Valley National Wildlife RefugeIKES
17 August 2005Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMinnesota Valley National Wildlife RefugeCLEVELAND
13 August 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Valley National Wildlife RefugeBLUE WATER
7 July 2013Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Valley National Wildlife RefugeCEDAR AVE 3
5 July 2011Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Valley National Wildlife RefugeBASS PONDS 1
3 July 2006Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMinnesota Valley National Wildlife RefugeBASS 2

Every fire recorded in Dakota County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Oheyawahe-Pilot Knob: 1 occurrence, 1 producer, 1 past producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Clay, Kaolin. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Twin City Brick Co. Clay PitKaolinProducerKaolinite
Dakota County Clay DepositClayOccurrence
Twin City Brick Co PitClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in Dakota County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Mendota Historic District0.7 miles1970
Henry H. Sibley House0.7 miles1972
Fort Snelling-Mendota Bridge0.8 miles1978
Fort Snelling1.3 miles1966
George W. Wentworth House4.9 miles1979
Caponi Art Park5.0 miles2025

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03001374 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Dakota CountyAll 40 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.