BlockBefore
Photograph of Osborn Building
Photograph by McGhiever, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Osborn Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018.

From the record

One of 134 National Register listings published here for Ramsey County · listed in 2018 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 370 N Wabasha St., Saint Paul, 55101
  • When was it listed? December 2018
  • Category. building
  • City. St. Paul city
  • National Register reference number. 100003233 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

The ground it stands on

13,839 words

This property stands in St. Paul City. History of Ramsey County and the City of St. Paul, Including the Explorers and Pioneers of Minnesota, published 1881; HIstory of Ramsey County and the CIty of St. Paul, published 1881 gives that township a chapter of its own.

The chapter covers the township.

Machine-read from a century-old scan, so expect the errors a machine makes: misspelled names, dropped words, stray characters.

Read the whole chapter on St. Paul City - 13,839 words on its settlement, mills, schools and churches.

Fires near this property

4 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 4 fires within 5 miles of Osborn Building between 1994 and 2020, burning about 22 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
13 September 1996Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
23 April 1994Arson/incendiarism20 acresMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
1 April 2020Arson/incendiarism1.2 acresMinnesota Department of Natural ResourcesSAND DUNES
21 October 2000Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Ramsey County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Osborn Building: 1 occurrence, 1 producer, 1 past producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Clay, Kaolin. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Twin City Brick Co. Clay PitKaolinProducerKaolinite
Dakota County Clay DepositClayOccurrence
Twin City Brick Co PitClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in Ramsey County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Northern Federal Buildingunder 500 feet2024
Germania Bank Buildingunder 500 feet1977
Commerce Buildingunder 500 feet2007
Hamm Building0.1 miles1997
Degree of Honor Protective Association Building0.1 miles2021
St. Paul City Hall and Ramsey County Courthouse0.1 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100003233 in Record Group 79.
Ramsey CountyAll 134 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.