Double Ditch Indian Village, North Dakota
10 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1907 and the latest in 1979. It stands in the Burnt Creek-Riverview unorganized territory. It lies in ZIP code area 58503. The Survey maps it on the Harmon quadrangle.
On record in Double Ditch Indian Village
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register within a mile 1 record
The National Register names another town for these. They stand within one mile of this settlement's coordinate.
- Depression Era Work Relief Construction Features at Double Ditch Indian Village Site State Historic Sitelisted 2014 · 0.1 miles away
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 10 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1907 USGS Bismarck quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1951 USGS Bismarck quadrangle1:62500
- 1954 USGS Bismarck quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1958 USGS Bismarck quadrangle1:250000
- 1962 USGS Harmon quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1976 USGS Harmon quadrangle1:24000
- 1979 USGS Bismarck quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
15 since 2005Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 15 fires within 5 miles of Double Ditch Indian Village between 2005 and 2020, burning about 100 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | 156 ST FIRE |
| 13 August 2018 | Fireworks | 50 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | HOGUE ISLAND FIRE |
| 8 July 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | North Dakota State Forest Service | 97TH AVE |
| 28 July 2018 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | 2018-339 |
| 24 July 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | MAGNOLIA FIRE |
| 5 May 2018 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | North Dakota State Forest Service | DOUBLE DITCH |
| 6 April 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | 84TH STREET FIRE |
| 30 April 2017 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | North Dakota State Forest Service | 2017-183 |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Midway | 6.7 miles | 9 | |
| Wogansport | 6.9 miles | 9 | |
| Arnold | 7.9 miles | 9 | |
| North Valley Park | 9.4 miles | 11 | |
| Hay Creek Court | 9.6 miles | 11 | |
| Baldwin | 10.2 miles | 6 | |
| Parkview Estates | 10.6 miles | 11 | |
| Bismarck | 10.8 miles | 11 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1033849. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.






