BlockBefore
Photograph of Donald Mann House
Photograph by Jerrye & Roy Klotz, MD, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Donald Mann House

Built in 1830 (Federal architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2013. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1899.

From the record

“Donald Mann House is a historic home located at Scottsville, Monroe County, New York. It was built about 1830, and is a two-story, Late Federal stone farmhouse with a side wing.”

Wikipedia article Donald Mann House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 233 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 2013 · category: Building · built in 1830, Federal architecture.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Mann, Donald, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 327 Stewart Rd., Scottsville, 14546
  • When was it listed? June 2013
  • Category. building
  • Town. Wheatland town
  • When was it built? 1830
  • Architectural style. Federal architecture
  • National Register reference number. 13000449 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

107 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 107 fires within 5 miles of Donald Mann House between 2000 and 2020, burning about 84 acres in total. 17 started naturally. 23 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined30
Arson/incendiarism23
Natural17
Debris and open burning12
Equipment and vehicle use8
Recreation and ceremony5
Smoking5
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 2020Natural5.0 acresFire Department of New YorkNA
17 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.2 acresFire Department of New YorkNA
17 September 2006Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
9 August 2010Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
3 August 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
24 August 2010Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
23 August 2007Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
21 August 2006Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Monroe County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 25 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 25 workings within 5 miles of Donald Mann House: 19 past producers, 6 producers. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gypsum-Anhydrite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Abandoned Gypsum WorkingsGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Abandoned Gysum WorkingsGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Consolidated Wheatland Plaster ShftGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Empire Gypsum Co. MineGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Garbutt Gypsum Co Shaft #1Gypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Lycoming Calcining Co Mine #1Gypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
M. Rogers Farm Gypsum DepositGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Mcvane Farm AditGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Monarch Plaster Co. ShaftGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Unnamed AditGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer

Every working recorded in Monroe County

Storms near this property

10 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Scottsville, the town this property stands in, in 10 storm reports between 1998 and 2025: 6 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood, 1 flash flood, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 2007Thunderstorm WindScottsville$15,000no account filed
May 1998Thunderstorm WindScottsville$15,000no account filed
November 2017FloodScottsville$10,000Oatka Creek at Garbutt crested at 6.52 feet at 8:30 AM on the 7th (Flood Stage is 6 feet).
June 2017Thunderstorm WindScottsville$10,000Broadcast media reported trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds on Quaker Road.
March 2009FloodScottsville$10,000no account filed
May 2019Thunderstorm WindScottsville$2,000Trees and wires were reported down.
July 2020Thunderstorm WindScottsville$1,000Two trees were down on Quaker Road.
August 2020Thunderstorm WindScottsville$1,000Trees were down onto Route 251.
August 2021Flash FloodScottsville-Water was reported to be flowing over the roadway near South Road and Bowerman Road.
May 2025HailScottsville-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Monroe County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Garbuttsville Cemetery1.1 miles2006
Romanta T. Miller House2.0 miles2014
Oatka Cemetery2.1 miles2014
Simeon Sage House2.4 miles2010
Wheatland Baptist Cemetery2.7 miles2006
David McVean House2.8 miles2006

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 13000449 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Monroe CountyAll 233 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.