BlockBefore
Photograph of John B. Wennerberg Barn
Photograph by Ian Poellet, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

John B. Wennerberg Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018.

From the record

One of 84 National Register listings published here for Yamhill County · listed in 2018 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Wennerberg, John B., Barn - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 501 S Park St., Carlton, 97111
  • When was it listed? June 2018
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Carlton
  • National Register reference number. 100002598 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

44 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 44 fires within 5 miles of John B. Wennerberg Barn between 1992 and 2019, burning about 90 acres in total. 3 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use16
Debris and open burning9
Other causes4
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Smoking3
Natural3
Recreation and ceremony2
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2017Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersGUNCLUB RD. FIRE
3 September 2017Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersWESTSIDE DITCH FIRE
3 September 2017Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersROCKYFORD RD FIRE
27 September 2003Equipment and vehicle use2.6 acresForest Grove DistrictROCKYFORD FIRE
21 September 1996Debris and open burning1.0 acresForest Grove DistrictMEADOWLAKE ROAD FIRE
2 September 2017Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersMEADOWLAKE GRASS FIRE
9 August 2008Other causesunder an acreForest Grove DistrictFOOTHILLS RD FIRE
6 August 2019Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersOLD RR GRADE FIRE

Every fire recorded in Yamhill County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of John B. Wennerberg Barn: 5 past producers, 3 producers, 1 occurrence, 1 prospect. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Iron, Titanium, Metal, Aluminum, Aluminum. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bauxite YamhillIron, Titanium, Metal, AluminumOccurrence
Yamhill Bauxite DepositAluminum, Titanium, IronProspect
Carpenter Creek PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Carpenter Creek QuarryStonePast Producer
Pekkola QuarryStonePast Producer
Pekkola QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
QuarryStonePast Producer
Sohrweild QuarryStonePast Producer
Sohrweild QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Yamhill County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Carlton State and Savings Bank0.2 miles1988
John Marion Bunn House3.4 miles1979
Lee Laughlin House3.5 miles1979
Joseph Mattey House3.9 miles1977
Evangelical Church of Lafayette4.5 miles2002
James M. and Paul R. Kelty House4.6 miles1982

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100002598 in Record Group 79.
Yamhill CountyAll 84 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.