From the record
One of 84 National Register listings published here for Yamhill County · listed in 1979 · category: Building · built in 1879.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Built in 1879. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.
One of 84 National Register listings published here for Yamhill County · listed in 1979 · category: Building · built in 1879.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 79 fires within 5 miles of Lee Laughlin House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 143 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Equipment and vehicle use | 29 |
| Debris and open burning | 25 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Smoking | 5 |
| Other causes | 5 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | HWY 47 MCLOUGHLIN FIRE |
| 4 September 2015 | Natural | under an acre | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | MARSHALL ROAD TREE FIRE |
| 3 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | WESTSIDE DITCH FIRE |
| 3 September 2017 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | ROCKYFORD RD FIRE |
| 3 September 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Forest Grove District | FAIRDALE CAR FIRE |
| 27 September 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.6 acres | Forest Grove District | ROCKYFORD FIRE |
| 26 September 2008 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Forest Grove District | FAIRDALE GATOR FIRE |
| 25 September 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Forest Grove District | LINCOLN AVENUE FIRE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Lee Laughlin House: 3 past producers, 3 producers, 1 occurrence, 1 prospect. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Iron, Titanium, Metal, Aluminum. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bauxite Yamhill | Iron, Titanium, Metal, Aluminum | Occurrence | ||
| Yamhill Bauxite Deposit | Aluminum, Titanium, Iron | Prospect | ||
| Carpenter Creek Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Carpenter Creek Quarry | Stone | Past Producer | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Pekkola Quarry | Stone | Past Producer | ||
| Pekkola Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Unnamed Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Yamhill, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports in 2004: 2 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | John Marion Bunn House | 0.2 miles | 1979 |
![]() | Carlton State and Savings Bank | 3.3 miles | 1988 |
![]() | John B. Wennerberg Barn | 3.5 miles | 2018 |
![]() | Joseph Mattey House | 7.1 miles | 1977 |
![]() | Evangelical Church of Lafayette | 7.5 miles | 2002 |
![]() | James M. and Paul R. Kelty House | 7.7 miles | 1982 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 79002153 in Record Group 79. |
| Yamhill County | All 84 listed properties in this county. |