BlockBefore
Photograph of Charles and Elizabeth Hatch House
Photograph by Ian Poellet, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Charles and Elizabeth Hatch House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2011.

From the record

One of 154 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 2011 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Hatch, Charles and Elizabeth, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 199 1st St., Rogue River, 97537
  • When was it listed? June 2011
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Northwest Jackson
  • Architectural style. Queen Anne style architecture in the United States
  • National Register reference number. 11000404 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

361 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 361 fires within 5 miles of Charles and Elizabeth Hatch House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 11,979 acres in total. 61 started naturally. 27 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use102
Natural61
Missing data/not specified/undetermined44
Debris and open burning28
Arson/incendiarism27
Smoking26
Power generation/transmission/distribution21
Recreation and ceremony16
Other causes14
Misuse of fire by a minor10
Fireworks10
Railroad operations and maintenance2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMedford DistrictROGUE RIVER HWY
8 September 2002Fireworksunder an acreGrants Pass UnitFOOTHILL BLVD
8 September 1993Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMedford DistrictROGEURIV 3
8 September 1993Arson/incendiarismunder an acreGrants Pass UnitROGUE RIVER HWY. #3
7 September 2020Equipment and vehicle use2.6 acresOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersN RIVER ROAD
7 September 2014Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreMedford DistrictPP R6335 LAURELWOOD
7 September 2010Debris and open burningunder an acreGrants Pass UnitAVERILL POND
7 September 1994Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreGrants Pass UnitPOWER POLE #R5436

Every fire recorded in Jackson County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 112 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 112 workings within 5 miles of Charles and Elizabeth Hatch House: 47 past producers, 29 occurrences, 23 prospects, 11 producers. 12 still produce. What was taken out: Gold, Limestone, General, Silver, Manganese. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Big Buck ProspectGold, Silver, Lead, Copper, ManganesePast ProducerChalcopyrite, Galena, Pyrite
Big Buck ProspectGold, Silver, Manganese, Lead, CopperPast Producer
Bristol Silica Co. MineSilica, DolomiteProducer
Cartinell MineGold, CopperProspect
Cartinell ProspectGold, CopperOccurrenceChalcopyrite
Hidden TreasureGold, Silver, Copper, LeadPast ProducerChalcopyrite, Galena, Pyrite, Sphalerite
Hidden TreasureGold, Silver, Lead, CopperProspect
IrwinCopper, Molybdenum, Gold, Bismuth, TinOccurrenceVein
Irwin Molybdenum ProspectMolybdenum, Gold, BismuthPast ProducerCassiterite, Chalcopyrite, Molybdenite
Irwin Molybdenum ProspectMolybdenum, Bismuth, TelluriumProspect

Every working recorded in Jackson County

Storms near this property

3 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Rogue River, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2007 and 2016: 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail, 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2007Thunderstorm WindRogue River$100,000Strong straight-line winds associated with a thunderstorm swept through portions of Jackson County. Numerous downed large trees were reported, and some of them damaged vehicles and trailers when they fell. Most of the damage was reported near the city of Rogue River. No injuries or deaths were reported.
January 2016FloodRogue River-A spotter 5N Rogue River reported that Evans Creek was out of its banks at 17/1518 PST.
June 2008HailRogue River-A Severe Thunderstorm moved through Rogue River. In addition to the hail, strong winds disrupted the annual Rooster Crow event in town, overturning a number of booths at the event.

Every storm recorded in Jackson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

5 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
White John B., House3.9 miles1978
Rock Point Hotel3.9 miles1980
Gold Hill High School5.8 miles1991
Thomas N. Anderson House5.9 miles1990
Chavner Family House6.8 miles1996

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 11000404 in Record Group 79.
Jackson CountyAll 154 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.