From the record
One of 154 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 1990 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.
One of 154 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 1990 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 388 fires within 5 miles of Thomas N. Anderson House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 750 acres in total. 66 started naturally. 49 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Equipment and vehicle use | 92 |
| Natural | 66 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 49 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 48 |
| Debris and open burning | 35 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 25 |
| Smoking | 22 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 20 |
| Fireworks | 11 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 9 |
| Other causes | 6 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 5 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Medford District | ROGUE RIVER HWY |
| 9 September 2004 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 12 acres | Medford Unit | RR MP 449.5 |
| 8 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | Medford District | LEFT FRK FOOTS CREEK |
| 8 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Medford District | MAPLE LANE |
| 7 September 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.6 acres | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | N RIVER ROAD |
| 7 September 1994 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Grants Pass Unit | POWER POLE #R5436 |
| 6 September 2003 | Natural | under an acre | Medford Unit | 1567 SARDINE |
| 6 September 1998 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Grants Pass Unit | P P # R-2569 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 206 workings within 5 miles of Thomas N. Anderson House: 87 past producers, 51 occurrences, 35 prospects, 30 producers. 30 still produce. What was taken out: Gold, Silver, Limestone, General, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blanche Claim | Gold, Copper, Silver | Occurrence | Chalcopyrite, Gold, Pyrite, Quartz | |
| Blanche Claim | Gold, Silver, Copper | Prospect | ||
| Braden Mine | Gold, Silver, Copper, Lead, Arsenic | Producer | Chalcopyrite, Galena, Gold, Pyrite | |
| Braden Mine | Gold, Silver, Lead, Copper, Arsenic | Past Producer | ||
| Bristol Silica Co. Mine | Silica, Dolomite | Producer | ||
| Gold Hill Mine | Gold, Platinum, Molybdenum | Past Producer | 1857 | |
| Gold Hill Pocket | Gold, Molybdenum, PGE | Past Producer | ||
| Gold Ray Granite | Granite, Clay | Past Producer | Clay | |
| Gold Ray Granite | Granite, Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Heath | Silver, Gold | Occurrence | Pyrite |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Gold Hill High School | 0.2 miles | 1991 |
![]() | Chavner Family House | 0.9 miles | 1996 |
![]() | Rock Point Hotel | 2.0 miles | 1980 |
![]() | White John B., House | 2.0 miles | 1978 |
![]() | Henry Van Hoevenberg Jr. House | 5.9 miles | 1981 |
![]() | Charles and Elizabeth Hatch House | 5.9 miles | 2011 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 90000845 in Record Group 79. |
| Jackson County | All 154 listed properties in this county. |