From the record
One of 154 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 1980 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.
One of 154 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 1980 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 395 fires within 5 miles of Rock Point Hotel between 1992 and 2020, burning about 2,119 acres in total. 73 started naturally. 43 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Equipment and vehicle use | 95 |
| Natural | 73 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 47 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 43 |
| Debris and open burning | 32 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 27 |
| Smoking | 23 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 21 |
| Other causes | 11 |
| Fireworks | 11 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 10 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Medford District | ROGUE RIVER HWY |
| 8 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | Medford District | LEFT FRK FOOTS CREEK |
| 8 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Medford District | MAPLE LANE |
| 8 September 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Medford District | ROGEURIV 3 |
| 8 September 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Grants Pass Unit | ROGUE RIVER HWY. #3 |
| 7 September 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.6 acres | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | N RIVER ROAD |
| 7 September 2014 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Medford District | PP R6335 LAURELWOOD |
| 7 September 1994 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Grants Pass Unit | POWER POLE #R5436 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 217 workings within 5 miles of Rock Point Hotel: 79 past producers, 59 occurrences, 46 prospects, 29 producers. 30 still produce. What was taken out: Gold, Silver, Limestone, General, Gold, Silver. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big Buck Prospect | Gold, Silver, Lead, Copper, Manganese | Past Producer | Chalcopyrite, Galena, Pyrite | |
| Big Buck Prospect | Gold, Silver, Manganese, Lead, Copper | Past Producer | ||
| Blanche Claim | Gold, Copper, Silver | Occurrence | Chalcopyrite, Gold, Pyrite, Quartz | |
| Blanche Claim | Gold, Silver, Copper | Prospect | ||
| Braden Mine | Gold, Silver, Copper, Lead, Arsenic | Producer | Chalcopyrite, Galena, Gold, Pyrite | |
| Braden Mine | Gold, Silver, Lead, Copper, Arsenic | Past Producer | ||
| Bristol Silica Co. Mine | Silica, Dolomite | Producer | ||
| Gold Hill Mine | Gold, Platinum, Molybdenum | Past Producer | 1857 | |
| Gold Hill Pocket | Gold, Molybdenum, PGE | Past Producer | ||
| Heath Property | Gold, Silver, Chromium | Prospect |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | White John B., House | under 500 feet | 1978 |
![]() | Gold Hill High School | 1.9 miles | 1991 |
![]() | Thomas N. Anderson House | 2.0 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Chavner Family House | 2.9 miles | 1996 |
![]() | Charles and Elizabeth Hatch House | 3.9 miles | 2011 |
![]() | Henry Van Hoevenberg Jr. House | 7.0 miles | 1981 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 80003322 in Record Group 79. |
| Jackson County | All 154 listed properties in this county. |