BlockBefore

Athens County Infirmary

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1903.

From the record

One of 28 National Register listings published here for Athens County · listed in 2003 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. 13183 OH 13, Millfield
  • When was it listed? May 2003
  • Category. district
  • Architectural style. Colonial Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 03000323 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1903 to 2002

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 99 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Athens County Infirmary, surveyed 2002
Topographic sheet covering Athens County Infirmary, surveyed 1903

Fires near this property

58 since 2003

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 58 fires within 5 miles of Athens County Infirmary between 2003 and 2020, burning about 96 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning23
Missing data/not specified/undetermined11
Recreation and ceremony7
Power generation/transmission/distribution5
Equipment and vehicle use5
Arson/incendiarism4
Natural1
Fireworks1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
23 September 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreWayne National ForestBEAN HOLLOW
23 September 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreWayne National ForestRAW FIRE
17 September 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreWayne National ForestMONK RD FIRE
9 July 2012Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 July 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWayne National ForestFALSE ALARM
3 July 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWayne National ForestBIG BAILEY
26 June 2019Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWayne National ForestRV FIRE 295
2 June 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWayne National ForestNORTH PEACH

Every fire recorded in Athens County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Athens County Infirmary: 1 past producer, 1 plant. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Gravel Plant 2 Pit and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPlant
Gravel Plant Number 2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Athens County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03000323 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Athens CountyAll 28 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.