BlockBefore
Photograph of Brimfield Center Historic District
Photograph by Daderot, CC0 1.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Brimfield Center Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006. 21 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1887.

From the record

One of 174 National Register listings published here for Hampden County · listed in 2006 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

Fires near this property

35 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 35 fires within 5 miles of Brimfield Center Historic District between 2015 and 2020, burning about 22 acres in total. 2 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use22
Missing data/not specified/undetermined3
Recreation and ceremony3
Natural2
Debris and open burning2
Smoking1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
17 September 2020Naturalunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
5 August 2020Smokingunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
4 August 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
21 August 2020Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
19 July 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
14 July 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
17 June 2020Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
4 May 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined8.2 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named

Every fire recorded in Hampden County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Brimfield Center Historic District: 4 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Dug Hill Road PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
E W Sykes PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Hi-Way PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Holland PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Palmer Bituminous CorpSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Palmer Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Hampden County

Maps showing this location

21 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
William Norcross House5.9 miles1984
Memorial Town Hall6.0 miles1984
Jacob Thompson House6.0 miles2020
Monson Center Historic District6.0 miles1991
Palmer Memorial Hall6.9 miles1999
US Post Office-Palmer Main6.9 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 06000524 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Hampden CountyAll 174 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.