BlockBefore

Sampson-White Joiner Shop

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. 16 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1885.

From the record

One of 138 National Register listings published here for Plymouth County · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 267 Winter Street, Duxbury
  • Category. building
  • National Register reference number. 100009826 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

215 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 215 fires within 5 miles of Sampson-White Joiner Shop between 2015 and 2020, burning about 76 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning135
Missing data/not specified/undetermined50
Misuse of fire by a minor18
Recreation and ceremony4
Smoking3
Arson/incendiarism2
Natural1
Equipment and vehicle use1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2015Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlPLYMOUTH
5 September 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
5 September 2017Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
5 September 2016Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlPLYMPTON
5 September 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlMARSHFIELD
4 September 2018Misuse of fire by a minorunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
3 September 2015Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlDUXBURY
27 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlKINGSTON

Every fire recorded in Plymouth County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Sampson-White Joiner Shop: 4 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Halifax PitsSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Hill Pit & PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
John Hill IncSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Southeastern Pit & PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Southeastern Sand and Gravel CoSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
T L Edwards PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Plymouth County

Maps showing this location

16 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Tarklin School1.0 miles2009
Frederic C. Adams Public Library1.9 miles2001
Kingston Center Historic District2.0 miles2002
William Sever House2.2 miles2019
Bradford House2.5 miles2006
Old Town Hall Historic District2.6 miles2021

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100009826 in Record Group 79.
Plymouth CountyAll 138 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.