BlockBefore
Photograph of Hopewell Culture National Historical Park
Photograph by Ɱ, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Mound City Group National Monument

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1966. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1912.

From the record

One of 27 National Register listings published here for Ross County · listed in 1966 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. N of Chillicothe, Chillicothe
  • When was it listed? October 1966
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 66000119 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

14 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 14 fires within 5 miles of Mound City Group National Monument between 2002 and 2020, burning about 38 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning6
Recreation and ceremony3
Missing data/not specified/undetermined3
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
28 August 2018Power generation/transmission/distribution1.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources13945
17 August 2019Smokingunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15231
3 June 2017Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources8367
21 May 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources15214
27 April 2009Debris and open burning7.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
17 April 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15171
8 March 2014Debris and open burning4.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
21 March 2014Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Ross County

Mines and quarries near this property

5 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of Mound City Group National Monument: 3 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Blazer QuarrySand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
N3 Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
N3 Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Plant Number 6 PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Plant Number 6 PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Ross County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
McCafferty Run Farmstead1.1 miles2004
Henry Mace House1.2 miles1998
Chillicothe Veterans Administration Hospital1.3 miles2012
Adena (Thomas Worthington House)1.5 miles1970
Wesley Chapel1.7 miles1979
Story Mound State Memorial2.4 miles1973

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 66000119 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Ross CountyAll 27 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.