BlockBefore

Fifth and Lawrence Streets Residential District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978. 10 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1898.

From the record

One of 20 National Register listings published here for Lawrence County · listed in 1978 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 5th and Lawrence Sts., Ironton
  • When was it listed? August 1978
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 78002098 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1898 to 2002

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 104 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Fifth and Lawrence Streets Residential District, surveyed 2002
Topographic sheet covering Fifth and Lawrence Streets Residential District, surveyed 1898

Fires near this property

256 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 256 fires within 5 miles of Fifth and Lawrence Streets Residential District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,222 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 51 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning114
Arson/incendiarism51
Missing data/not specified/undetermined47
Equipment and vehicle use18
Other causes8
Recreation and ceremony7
Power generation/transmission/distribution7
Railroad operations and maintenance1
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Smoking1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2007Debris and open burning1.0 acresWayne National ForestFALSE ALARM 09/09
7 September 2007Power generation/transmission/distribution11 acresWayne National ForestWIND FIRE
6 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresWayne National ForestJANIE FIRE
5 September 1998Debris and open burningunder an acreWayne National ForestBAILEY
28 September 1998Arson/incendiarism8.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
26 September 2007Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresWayne National ForestST. MARY'S CHURCH #1
24 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresWayne National ForestIRONTON #1 FIRE
20 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresWayne National ForestHANGING ROCK SPUR A

Every fire recorded in Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Fifth and Lawrence Streets Residential District: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ironton Plant Number 85ClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in Lawrence County

Newspapers printed here

1 paper

1 paper published in this town, digitised by the Library of Congress and free to read. Every page is searchable, so a name or a street can be looked for directly in what the town printed about itself at the time.

NewspaperPublished
The Ironton News1899 to 1937

Maps showing this location

10 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Hallunder 500 feet2012
Marlow Theatre0.3 miles2008
Downtown Ironton Historic District0.3 miles2009
Rankin Historic District0.3 miles1979
Norfolk And Western Railroad Depot0.3 miles1978
Marting Hotel0.3 miles1999

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 78002098 in Record Group 79.
Lawrence CountyAll 20 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.