BlockBefore
Photograph of Leonard C. Hanna Jr. Estate
Photograph by Nyttend, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Leonard C. Hanna Jr. Estate

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1905.

From the record

One of 81 National Register listings published here for Lake County · listed in 1979 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Hanna, Leonard C., Jr., Estate - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Little Mountain Rd., Kirtland Hills
  • When was it listed? March 1979
  • Category. building
  • National Register reference number. 79001870 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1905 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 89 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Leonard C. Hanna Jr. Estate, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering Leonard C. Hanna Jr. Estate, surveyed 1905

Fires near this property

1 since 2003

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 1 fire within 5 miles of Leonard C. Hanna Jr. Estate in 2003, burning about 400 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
28 April 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined400 acresOhio Department of Natural ResourcesMENTOR

Every fire recorded in Lake County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Leonard C. Hanna Jr. Estate: 2 producers. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Gen. Electric/ Willoughby, OhioSilicaProducer
Mentor Sand and Supply PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Lake County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
John G. Oliver House1.5 miles1981
Benjamin and Mary Young House2.0 miles1996
John and Carrie Yager House2.0 miles1994
Edward W. and Louise C. Moore Estate2.1 miles1988
Mentor Village Hall2.1 miles2014
James A. Garfield National Historic Site2.2 miles1966

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 79001870 in Record Group 79.
Lake CountyAll 81 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.