BlockBefore

SHENANDOAH Crash Sites

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1911.

From the record

One of 10 National Register listings published here for Noble County · listed in 1989 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

Then and now

1911 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 83 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering SHENANDOAH Crash Sites, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering SHENANDOAH Crash Sites, surveyed 1911

Fires near this property

26 since 2009

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 26 fires within 5 miles of SHENANDOAH Crash Sites between 2009 and 2020, burning about 32 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning14
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Arson/incendiarism3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Natural1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15250
28 September 2019Naturalunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15266
27 September 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15265
8 June 2017Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources8425
28 May 2016Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources4965
18 April 2016Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources4426
14 April 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
13 April 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources14706

Every fire recorded in Noble County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of SHENANDOAH Crash Sites: 3 past producers, 3 producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Lawrence King Limestone QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Ava PitClayPast Producer
Ava PitClayPast ProducerSedimentary
King Quarries ExtensionStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
King QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Merrill Brothers LimestoneStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer

Every working recorded in Noble County

Newspapers printed here

1 paper

1 paper published in this town, digitised by the Library of Congress and free to read. Every page is searchable, so a name or a street can be looked for directly in what the town printed about itself at the time.

NewspaperPublished
The Journal1934 to 1961

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Noble County Jail and Sheriff's Office3.7 miles2004
Caldwell Downtown Historic District3.8 miles2020
Samuel Caldwell House4.0 miles1980
Young-Shaw House7.2 miles1980

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 89000942 in Record Group 79.
Noble CountyAll 10 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.