BlockBefore
Photograph of Russell Center Historic District
Photograph by John Phelan, CC BY 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Russell Center Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996. 23 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1887.

From the record

One of 174 National Register listings published here for Hampden County · listed in 1996 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. Jct. of Main and Lincoln Ave., Russell
  • When was it listed? December 1996
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 96001524 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1887 to 1998

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 111 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Russell Center Historic District, surveyed 1998
Topographic sheet covering Russell Center Historic District, surveyed 1887

Fires near this property

21 since 2010

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 21 fires within 5 miles of Russell Center Historic District between 2010 and 2020, burning about 385 acres in total. 2 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Equipment and vehicle use5
Recreation and ceremony4
Natural2
Smoking1
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
11 September 2016Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
18 August 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
13 August 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
29 July 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
25 July 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
3 May 2015Natural2.0 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
22 May 2016Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named

Every fire recorded in Hampden County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 22 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 22 workings within 5 miles of Russell Center Historic District: 9 producers, 8 past producers, 4 occurrences, 1 unknown. 9 still produce. What was taken out: Mica, Stone, Dimension, Lead, Talc-Soapstone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Hampden Marble Quarry SeriesMarble, DimensionPast Producer
John S Lane and Son IncStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Kaolin QuarryBrick ClayProducer
Kaolin QuarryClayPast Producer
Pegmatite QuarryMica, FeldsparProducerFeldspar
Westfield DepositKyaniteOccurrence
Westfield Quarry Plants L & 2Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Blandford Mica MineMica, FeldsparPast ProducerFeldspar, Mica
Donovan PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
Donovan Pit and PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Hampden County

Maps showing this location

23 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 96001524 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Hampden CountyAll 174 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.