Central, South Carolina
19 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1888 and the latest in 1991. It stands in the Central census division. It lies in ZIP code area 29630. The Survey maps it on the Clemson quadrangle. 5,247 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 912 feet above sea level.
On record in Central
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 3 records
Central High Schoollisted 1994
Central Roller Millslisted 2013
Morgan Houselisted 2001
Population over time
2 figuresCentral grew from 5,159 to 5,247 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 5,159 | |
| 2020 | 5,247 | +88 (+2%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 19 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1888 USGS Pickens quadrangle1:125000
- 1894 USGS Pickens quadrangle1:125000, 6 printings
- 1951 USGS Clemson quadrangle1:24000, 6 printings
- 1954 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:250000
- 1984 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:100000
- 1991 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
108 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 108 fires within 5 miles of Central between 1992 and 2020, burning about 650 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 48 |
| Debris and open burning | 29 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 9 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 7 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 6 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2018 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 September 2019 | Recreation and ceremony | 30 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 12 September 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 8 August 2008 | Debris and open burning | 8.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 August 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 31 July 1999 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
9 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Central: 5 prospects, 2 occurrences, 1 past producer, 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Mica, Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calhoun Placer | Gold | Past Producer | ||
| Calhoun Placer | Gold | Unknown | Placer | |
| Amos L Honeycutt Deposit | Mica | Occurrence | ||
| Head Prospect | Mica | Prospect | ||
| Mattie Falls Deposit | Mica | Occurrence | ||
| Morgan Prospect | Mica | Prospect | ||
| Murphrie Deposit | Mica | Prospect | ||
| Robinson Prospects | Mica | Prospect | ||
| Ross Morgan Prospect | Mica | Prospect |
Storms near this place
25 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Central in 25 storm reports between 1994 and 2023: 12 thunderstorm wind, 9 hail, 1 flash flood, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | $100,000 | NWS storm survey and em reported numerous trees blown down due to downburst winds, with one tree on a house and multiple other homes receiving mostly minor damage due to falling limbs. The damage was mainly from Wood St, across Meredith St, to Fernway Dr. |
| June 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | $50,000 | no account filed |
| January 1999 | Lightning | Central | $30,000 | no account filed |
| August 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | $10,000 | Numerous trees were blown down. At least one tree fell on a house. |
| June 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | $5,000 | A localized thunderstorm ripped through Central wrecking part of a recreation department's facilities, smashed two cars and damaged roof to a home. |
| July 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | $2,000 | Fire dept reported multiple trees and power lines down from Maw Bridge Rd and Blue Jay Rd across Pin Du Lac Dr to Madden Bridge Rd. A few outbuildings were damaged as well. |
| June 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | - | Dept of Highways reported a couple of trees blown down in the Central area. |
| April 2017 | Tornado (EF0) | Central | - | NWS Storm survey found a short tornado path within large area of downburst damage in central. The tornado very briefly touched down near the intersection of Joseph St and Wood St, bringing down dozens of trees in a wooded area behind residences. |
| August 2014 | Hail | Central | - | Public reported quarter size hail. |
| June 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | - | County comms reported multiple trees blown down near Robinson Bridge Rd and Pea ridge Rd. |
| June 2014 | Hail | Central | - | Spotter reported 3/4 inch hail near Six Mile. |
| June 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | - | Multiple trees were blown down along highway 123 near Central. |
| July 2004 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | - | Some trees were blown down. |
| July 2003 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | - | Several trees were blown down. |
| May 2012 | Hail | Central | - | no account filed |
| August 2011 | Hail | Central | - | no account filed |
| June 2009 | Hail | Central | - | no account filed |
| August 2009 | Hail | Central | - | no account filed |
| June 2007 | Hail | Central | - | no account filed |
| April 2005 | Heavy Rain | Central | - | no account filed |
| May 2003 | Hail | Central | - | no account filed |
| August 2002 | Hail | Central | - | no account filed |
| June 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | - | no account filed |
| October 1997 | Flash Flood | Central | - | no account filed |
| June 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Central | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brookwood | 0.5 miles | 19 | |
| Kelcar Acres | 0.8 miles | 19 | |
| Isaqueena Village | 1.4 miles | 19 | |
| Heatherwood | 1.6 miles | 19 | |
| Eastbriar | 1.8 miles | 19 | |
| Mountaindale | 1.8 miles | 19 | |
| Monaco Estates | 2.1 miles | 19 | |
| Mountain Estates | 2.1 miles | 19 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Central | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q2190705 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1247236. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






