BlockBefore

John De La Howe State School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.

From the record

One of 22 National Register listings published here for McCormick County · listed in 1970 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. De La Howe, John, State School - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 192 Gettys Rd, Francis Marion and Sumter National Forests,, McCormick, 29835
  • When was it listed? June 1970
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Mount Carmel
  • National Register reference number. 100001247 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

126 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 126 fires within 5 miles of John De La Howe State School between 1992 and 2020, burning about 956 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 22 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined39
Debris and open burning32
Arson/incendiarism22
Equipment and vehicle use15
Recreation and ceremony5
Natural4
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Smoking3
Other causes1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1995Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
27 September 2001Debris and open burning3.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2010Arson/incendiarism15 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
20 September 2005Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined97 acresFrancis Marion & Sumter National ForestsLITTLE RIVER FIRE
16 September 2011Other causes1.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
15 September 2011Debris and open burning6.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
13 September 1999Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in McCormick County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of John De La Howe State School: 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Manganese. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Parsons Mt. Area-Piedmont Mn BeltManganeseProspect

Every working recorded in McCormick County

Storms near this property

2 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names McCormick, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 1994 and 1995: 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
September 1995Thunderstorm WindMcCormick$5,000Numerous trees and powerlines down McCormick to Modoc.
June 1994Thunderstorm WindMcCormick-no account filed

Every storm recorded in McCormick County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Guillebeau House1.7 miles1973
Gibert, John Albert, M.D., House2.1 miles1993
Calhoun-Gibert House3.5 miles1996
Long Cane Massacre Site5.1 miles1983
Lower Long Cane Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church5.6 miles1999
Calhoun Mill6.3 miles1980

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100001247 in Record Group 79.
McCormick CountyAll 22 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.