BlockBefore
Photograph of John Albert Gibert M.D. House
Photograph by Bill Fitzpatrick, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Gibert, John Albert, M.D., House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.

From the record

“House is a historic home located near McCormick in McCormick County, South Carolina. It was built about 1867, and is a two-story, frame, I-house embellished with Greek Revival style decorative elements.”

Wikipedia article John Albert Gibert M.D. House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 22 National Register listings published here for McCormick County · listed in 1993 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. SC secondary rd. 7, 0.2 mi. S of jct. with SC secondary rd. 110, McCormick, 29835
  • When was it listed? May 1993
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Mount Carmel
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 93000441 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

112 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 112 fires within 5 miles of Gibert, John Albert, M.D., House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 782 acres in total. 7 started naturally. 19 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined40
Debris and open burning22
Arson/incendiarism19
Equipment and vehicle use11
Natural7
Recreation and ceremony7
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Smoking2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1995Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
27 September 2001Debris and open burning3.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2010Arson/incendiarism15 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined97 acresFrancis Marion & Sumter National ForestsLITTLE RIVER FIRE
13 September 1999Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 2010Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
5 August 2002Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
31 August 1998Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in McCormick County

Storms near this property

2 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names McCormick, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 1994 and 1995: 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
September 1995Thunderstorm WindMcCormick$5,000Numerous trees and powerlines down McCormick to Modoc.
June 1994Thunderstorm WindMcCormick-no account filed

Every storm recorded in McCormick County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Guillebeau House2.0 miles1973
John De La Howe State School2.1 miles1970
Calhoun-Gibert House4.5 miles1996
Long Cane Massacre Site6.6 miles1983
Dorn's Flour and Grist Mill7.1 miles1976
McCormick County Courthouse7.2 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 93000441 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
McCormick CountyAll 22 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.