From the record
One of 22 National Register listings published here for McCormick County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.
One of 22 National Register listings published here for McCormick County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 164 fires within 5 miles of McCormick County Office Building between 1992 and 2020, burning about 592 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 89 |
| Debris and open burning | 35 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 14 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 8 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 5 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 4 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 3 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 2016 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 2 September 1995 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 September 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 12 workings within 5 miles of McCormick County Office Building: 9 past producers, 1 prospect, 1 unknown, 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Gold, Barium-Barite, Zinc, Copper, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abernathy and Kehaya/Dorn Mine | Manganese | Past Producer | 1942 | |
| Barite Hill | Gold, Barium-Barite, Copper, Silver, Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | Pyrite, Gold, Chalcopyrite, Galena, Sphalerite | |
| Butler Prospect | Barium-Barite, Gold, Zinc, Copper | Past Producer | 1860 | |
| Jennings Mine | Gold, Copper | Unknown | 1860 | |
| Dorn Mine | Gold, Zinc, Copper | Past Producer | Vein/Stratabound | |
| Dorn Mine | Gold, Barium-Barite | Past Producer | ||
| Self Mine | Gold, Barium-Barite | Past Producer | 1860 | |
| Barite Hill | Gold | Past Producer | 1984, 1991 | |
| Butler Prospect | Gold | Occurrence | ||
| Jennings Prospect | Gold | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names McCormick, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 1994 and 1995: 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | McCormick | $5,000 | Numerous trees and powerlines down McCormick to Modoc. |
| June 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | McCormick | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | McCormick Train Station | under 500 feet | 1985 |
![]() | Farmer's Bank | under 500 feet | 1985 |
![]() | Hotel Keturah | 0.1 miles | 1985 |
![]() | M. L. B. Sturkey House | 0.1 miles | 1985 |
![]() | Joseph Jennings Dorn House | 0.1 miles | 1985 |
![]() | Otway Henderson House | 0.2 miles | 1985 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100009699 in Record Group 79. |
| McCormick County | All 22 listed properties in this county. |