BlockBefore
Photograph of Joseph Jennings Dorn House
Photograph by Bill Fitzpatrick, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Joseph Jennings Dorn House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

From the record

“Joseph Jennings Dorn House is a historic home located at McCormick in McCormick County, South Carolina. It was built about 1917, and is a two-story, brick Colonial Revival style dwelling.”

Wikipedia article Joseph Jennings Dorn House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 22 National Register listings published here for McCormick County · listed in 1985 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Dorn, Joseph Jennings, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Gold and Oak Sts., McCormick, 29835
  • When was it listed? December 1985
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. McCormick MRA
  • Census division. McCormick
  • Architectural style. Colonial Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 85003342 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

160 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 160 fires within 5 miles of Joseph Jennings Dorn House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 574 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined87
Debris and open burning33
Equipment and vehicle use14
Railroad operations and maintenance8
Recreation and ceremony5
Misuse of fire by a minor4
Natural4
Arson/incendiarism3
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 1997Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 1999Debris and open burning3.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
2 September 1995Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2007Debris and open burning2.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
17 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
17 September 2003Debris and open burning1.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in McCormick County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 13 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 13 workings within 5 miles of Joseph Jennings Dorn House: 10 past producers, 1 prospect, 1 unknown, 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Gold, Barium-Barite, Zinc, Copper, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Abernathy and Kehaya/Dorn MineManganesePast Producer1942
Barite HillGold, Barium-Barite, Copper, Silver, Lead, ZincPast ProducerPyrite, Gold, Chalcopyrite, Galena, Sphalerite
Butler ProspectBarium-Barite, Gold, Zinc, CopperPast Producer1860
Jennings MineGold, CopperUnknown1860
Dorn MineGold, Zinc, CopperPast ProducerVein/Stratabound
Dorn MineGold, Barium-BaritePast Producer
Self MineGold, Barium-BaritePast Producer1860
Barite HillGoldPast Producer1984, 1991
Butler ProspectGoldOccurrence
Jennings ProspectGoldProspect

Every working recorded in McCormick County

Storms near this property

2 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names McCormick, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 1994 and 1995: 2 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
September 1995Thunderstorm WindMcCormick$5,000Numerous trees and powerlines down McCormick to Modoc.
June 1994Thunderstorm WindMcCormick-no account filed

Every storm recorded in McCormick County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Farmer's Bank0.1 miles1985
McCormick County Office Building0.1 miles2024
Hotel Keturah0.1 miles1985
McCormick Train Station0.2 miles1985
Otway Henderson House0.2 miles1985
Dorn's Flour and Grist Mill0.2 miles1976

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 85003342 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
McCormick CountyAll 22 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.