BlockBefore
Photograph of Brookland Plantation
Photograph by C.O. Greene, Photographer, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Brooklands Plantation

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.

From the record

One of 227 National Register listings published here for Charleston County · listed in 1987 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. Off Laurel Hill Rd. on Scanawah Island, Edisto Island, 29438
  • When was it listed? May 1987
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Edisto Island MRA
  • Census division. Edisto Island
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 86003198 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

59 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 59 fires within 5 miles of Brooklands Plantation between 1992 and 2018, burning about 720 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 13 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning24
Missing data/not specified/undetermined16
Arson/incendiarism13
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Equipment and vehicle use2
Natural2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
30 September 2013Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 1999Natural5.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2006Arson/incendiarism12 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
2 August 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
26 July 2010Naturalunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
21 July 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
3 June 2001Debris and open burning1.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
28 June 1996Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Charleston County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Frogmore1.2 miles1987
Middleton's Plantation1.8 miles1971
Prospect Hill1.8 miles1986
Windsor Plantation2.1 miles1974
Peter's Point Plantation2.3 miles1973
Presbyterian Manse2.7 miles1971

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 86003198 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Charleston CountyAll 227 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.