BlockBefore
Photograph of Prospect Hill
Photograph by Original: This file comes from the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Prospect Hill

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.

From the record

“Prospect Hill is an historic plantation house on Edisto Island, South Carolina. The two-story Federal house is significant for its architecture and ties to the production of sea island cotton.”

Wikipedia article Prospect Hill (Charleston County, South Carolina), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 227 National Register listings published here for Charleston County · listed in 1986 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. Off Laurel Hill Rd., Edisto Island, 29438
  • When was it listed? November 1986
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Edisto Island MRA
  • Census division. Edisto Island
  • National Register reference number. 86003196 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

36 since 1993

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 36 fires within 5 miles of Prospect Hill between 1993 and 2018, burning about 959 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning15
Arson/incendiarism9
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Natural2
Recreation and ceremony1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
10 September 1999Natural5.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2006Arson/incendiarism12 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
2 August 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
26 July 2010Naturalunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
21 July 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
2 June 2001Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
30 May 2006Debris and open burning6.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
17 May 2008Arson/incendiarism20 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Charleston County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Prospect Hill: 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Peat. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Green Pond MinePeatUnknownSedimentary

Every working recorded in Charleston County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Frogmore1.8 miles1987
Brooklands Plantation1.8 miles1987
Windsor Plantation2.7 miles1974
Middleton's Plantation3.5 miles1971
Peter's Point Plantation3.7 miles1973
Brick House Ruin3.8 miles1970

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 86003196 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Charleston CountyAll 227 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.