From the record
One of 399 National Register listings published here for Salt Lake County · listed in 2024 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.
One of 399 National Register listings published here for Salt Lake County · listed in 2024 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 7 fires within 5 miles of Westwood Village Historic District between 1999 and 2019, burning about 2 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | TRAILER |
| 9 July 2019 | Fireworks | 2.0 acres | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | MAJESTIC OAKS ASSIST |
| 5 March 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | 888 W ROCKHILL POINT CV |
| 4 March 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | 5525 S COUGAR LN |
| 19 March 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | 4430 S ATHERTON DR |
| 26 February 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | 5350 S NORTHWEST AVE |
| 17 February 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Utah Division Forestry Fire State Lands | 4100 S 1300 W ST |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 46 workings within 5 miles of Westwood Village Historic District: 22 producers, 20 past producers, 3 unknowns, 1 occurrence. 22 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Lead, Gold, Silver. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alta Champion | Silver, Lead, Gold, Bismuth | Producer | Vein | |
| Dry Fork Mine | Silver, Copper, Zinc, Lead, Iron | Past Producer | Chalcopyrite, Galena, Pyrite, Sphalerite | |
| Intermountain Smelting Corp | Antimony | Producer | ||
| Midvale Minerals Co. | Zinc, Silver, Lead, Arsenic | Producer | ||
| National Tunnel and Mines Co. | Lead, Zinc, Gold | Past Producer | ||
| New England | Silver, Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Onyx Ranch | Gemstone | Producer | Onyx | |
| Spring and Summit | Gold, Silver | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown | Mercury, Lead | Occurrence | Cinnabar, Mercury | |
| Utah Delaware Mining Co. | Silver, Gold, Zinc, Lead, Copper | Past Producer |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| William McLachlan Farmhouse | 1.7 miles | 1980 | |
| John and Jennette Gerrard House | 1.9 miles | 2022 | |
| Taylorsville LDS Ward Meetinghouse | 2.1 miles | 2022 | |
![]() | Murray City Diesel Power Plant | 3.1 miles | 2015 |
![]() | Murray LDS Second Ward Meetinghouse | 3.1 miles | 2001 |
![]() | Murray Downtown Historic District | 3.3 miles | 2006 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100009202 in Record Group 79. |
| Salt Lake County | All 399 listed properties in this county. |