BlockBefore

George Walter Jr. and Isabelle Bramwell House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.

From the record

One of 75 National Register listings published here for Weber County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Still standing. The Park Service records this property as extant.
  • Listed as. Bramwell, George Walter Jr. and Isabelle, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 4442 W 2350 North, Plain City, 84404
  • When was it listed? July 2024
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Northwest Weber
  • National Register reference number. 100010536 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

85 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 85 fires within 5 miles of George Walter Jr. and Isabelle Bramwell House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 2,664 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined41
Debris and open burning20
Equipment and vehicle use13
Railroad operations and maintenance3
Natural3
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Recreation and ceremony1
Arson/incendiarism1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2019Debris and open burning4.3 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsPIONEER ASSIST
8 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State Lands12TH STREET
7 September 1992Missing data/not specified/undetermined56 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State Lands4000 N
6 September 1995Missing data/not specified/undetermined2,300 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsFREEMONT ISLAND FIRE
4 September 2018Debris and open burning4.4 acresBear River AreaSTACK YARD
24 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined15 acresSalt Lake Field OfficeHAROLD CRANE UPLAND
21 September 2013Debris and open burning10 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsRIVER BOTTOM
2 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsWILLARD BAY DIKE

Every fire recorded in Weber County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 22 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 22 workings within 5 miles of George Walter Jr. and Isabelle Bramwell House: 9 producers, 6 past producers, 4 prospects, 2 occurrences. 9 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Brick Clay, Fire Clay (Refractory), Fire Clay (Refractory). Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Clay Pits and Borrow PitsClay, Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Harrisville Brick DepositFire Clay (Refractory)Producer
Harrisville Brick Plant DepositBrick Clay, Fire Clay (Refractory)Past ProducerUnconsolidated Sediments
Utah Hot SpringsManganeseProspect1963
Utah Hot SpringsGeothermalUnknown
Wasatch IronIronOccurrenceHematite
Clay Pits & Borrow PitsSand and Gravel, Construction, ClayProducerMetamorphic
Pleasant View Clay Pits and Borrow PitsSand and Gravel, Construction, ClayPast ProducerMetamorphic
UnnamedClayOccurrence
Parcell and Cragun PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerUnconsolidated Sediments

Every working recorded in Weber County

Storms near this property

4 since 2011

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Plain City, the town this property stands in, in 4 storm reports between 2011 and 2021: 2 flood, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
February 2017FloodPlain City$100,000Heavy rain and snowmelt led to residential basement flooding across portions of Weber County, with damage reported in Farr West, Plain City, and across parts of the Ogden Valley.
June 2011FloodPlain City$100,000The Weber River continued to flood through early June, and became significantly worse when a levee near Plain City broke on June 9th. These flood waters impacted barns and houses along the river, though the houses were spared from interior damage. Many fields and yards across the area were inundated by significant amounts of water.
May 2021HailPlain City-Quarter-sized fell in Plain City.
June 2020HailPlain City-Hail estimated to be golf ball-sized hail was reported by broadcast media.

Every storm recorded in Weber County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
William D. Skeen House0.2 miles1982
Stone Farmstead5.4 miles2004
Sidney Stevens House6.1 miles1977
North Ogden Elementary School6.3 miles1985
Charles W. Cross House7.1 miles1984
Ogden Union Stockyard Exchange Building7.2 miles2015

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100010536 in Record Group 79.
Weber CountyAll 75 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.