BlockBefore
Photograph of South Main Street Historic District
Photograph by James Steakley, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

South Main Street Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2000.

From the record

“The South Main Street Historic District is a surviving collection of eleven commercial buildings built from 1877 to 1915 in the old downtown of Oregon, Wisconsin, plus the WWI memorial. It was added to the State and the National Register of Historic Places in 2000.”

Wikipedia article South Main Street Historic District (Oregon, Wisconsin), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 238 National Register listings published here for Dane County · listed in 2000 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 10 buildingss, 1 object as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. S. Main St., jct. with Jefferson and Janesville Sts., Village of Oregon, 53575
  • When was it listed? June 2000
  • Category. district
  • Village. Oregon village
  • National Register reference number. 00000699 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

The ground it stands on

13,699 words

This property stands in Oregon Village. History of Dane County, Wisconsin ... Preceded by a History of Wisconsin, Statistics of the State, and an Abstract of Its Laws and Constitution and of the Constitution of the United States, published 1880 gives that township a chapter of its own.

The chapter covers the township.

Machine-read from a century-old scan, so expect the errors a machine makes: misspelled names, dropped words, stray characters.

Read the whole chapter on Oregon Village - 13,699 words on its settlement, mills, schools and churches.

Fires near this property

12 since 2014

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 12 fires within 5 miles of South Main Street Historic District between 2014 and 2020, burning about 12 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Debris and open burning4
Smoking2
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 August 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources1289
4 July 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources83
22 April 2018Smoking3.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources18418
18 April 2014Debris and open burning2.0 acresLeopold Wetland Management DistrictSCHULTZ WF
12 April 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources43
11 April 2018Smoking2.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources18389
10 April 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources94
1 April 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources18335

Every fire recorded in Dane County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of South Main Street Historic District: 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Reindahl QuarryStoneUnknown

Every working recorded in Dane County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Oregon Masonic Lodgeunder 500 feet1992
First National Bankunder 500 feet2007
Oregon Water Tower and Pump Houseunder 500 feet2007
Oregon High School0.2 miles1998
John and Flora Gilbert House0.4 miles2007
Lincoln Street Historic District0.4 miles2006

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 00000699 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Dane CountyAll 238 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.