BlockBefore

Hall-Raynor Stopping Place

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.

From the record

“The Hall-Raynor Stopping Place was built around 1874 beside the Chippewa River - one of many rest stops on a tote road that ran north from Chippewa Falls to supply early logging operations upstream. In 1979 the structure was placed on the National Register of Historic Places, considered significant as the last remaining stopping place from that era on the river and the oldest known surviving structure in Sawyer County.”

Wikipedia article Hall-Raynor Stopping Place, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 4 National Register listings published here for Sawyer County · listed in 1979 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. N of Ojibwa on WI G, Ojibwa, 54862
  • When was it listed? August 1979
  • Category. building
  • Town. Ojibwa town
  • National Register reference number. 79000115 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

48 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 48 fires within 5 miles of Hall-Raynor Stopping Place between 1992 and 2019, burning about 64 acres in total. None started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism16
Debris and open burning11
Equipment and vehicle use6
Recreation and ceremony5
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Other causes2
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 July 2007Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
13 July 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
14 June 2007Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
7 May 2019Debris and open burning1.5 acresWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesHELSING
7 May 2018Equipment and vehicle use1.1 acresWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesENDICOTT
6 May 2019Arson/incendiarism7.1 acresWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesBRUNET LANE
6 May 2014Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesJUNK YARD FIRE
5 May 2014Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesHIGHLAND ROAD FIRE

Every fire recorded in Sawyer County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 21 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 21 workings within 5 miles of Hall-Raynor Stopping Place: 11 occurrences, 10 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Brunet River Gravel Deposit #5Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Chippewa River Gravel Pit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Chippewa River Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Crooked Rapids Sand DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Dam Road Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Dorscheid Road Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Endicott Road Sand Deposit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Endicott Road Sand Deposit #2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Hemlock Spur Creek Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Hemlock Spur Creek Sand DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence

Every working recorded in Sawyer County

Storms near this property

2 since 2017

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ojibwa, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 2017 and 2022: 1 flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2017FloodOjibwa$1,000Several sections of Wisconsin State Highway 27 flooded between Ojibwa and Couderay.
August 2022Thunderstorm WindOjibwa-Trees were downed across roads and power lines with reports of power outages.

Every storm recorded in Sawyer County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Ojibwa Courier Press Building0.2 miles1982

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 79000115 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Sawyer CountyAll 4 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.