From the record
One of 4 National Register listings published here for Sawyer County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.
One of 4 National Register listings published here for Sawyer County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 50 fires within 5 miles of Ojibwa Courier Press Building between 1992 and 2019, burning about 65 acres in total. None started naturally. 17 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 17 |
| Debris and open burning | 11 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 6 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 5 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 3 |
| Other causes | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 July 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 13 July 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 14 June 2007 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 7 May 2019 | Debris and open burning | 1.5 acres | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | HELSING |
| 7 May 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.1 acres | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | ENDICOTT |
| 6 May 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | 7.1 acres | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | BRUNET LANE |
| 6 May 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | JUNK YARD FIRE |
| 5 May 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | HIGHLAND ROAD FIRE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 22 workings within 5 miles of Ojibwa Courier Press Building: 12 occurrences, 10 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brunet River Gravel Deposit #4 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Occurrence | ||
| Brunet River Gravel Deposit #5 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Occurrence | ||
| Chippewa River Gravel Pit #1 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Chippewa River Sand Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Crooked Rapids Sand Deposit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Occurrence | ||
| Dorscheid Road Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Endicott Road Sand Deposit #1 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Occurrence | ||
| Endicott Road Sand Deposit #2 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Occurrence | ||
| Hemlock Spur Creek Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Hemlock Spur Creek Sand Deposit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Occurrence |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hall-Raynor Stopping Place | 0.2 miles | 1979 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 82000712 in Record Group 79. |
| Sawyer County | All 4 listed properties in this county. |