BlockBefore
Photograph of St. Paul Lutheran School
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

St. Paul Lutheran School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.

From the record

“Paul Lutheran School, also known as the Lutherville School, is a historic school building in rural Johnson County, Arkansas. It is located on the east side of County Road 418, northeast of Lamar.”

Wikipedia article St. Paul Lutheran School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 35 National Register listings published here for Johnson County · listed in 1999 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Cty Rd. 418, Lamar, 72846
  • When was it listed? March 1999
  • Category. building
  • Township. Perry township
  • National Register reference number. 99000228 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

46 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 46 fires within 5 miles of St. Paul Lutheran School between 1997 and 2020, burning about 304 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined16
Debris and open burning12
Arson/incendiarism9
Natural4
Equipment and vehicle use3
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined28 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 September 2004Smoking2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 September 2000Natural1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 2007Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2012Natural38 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Johnson County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of St. Paul Lutheran School: 2 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Zinc, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Keys GapZinc, LeadPast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer

Every working recorded in Johnson County

Storms near this property

27 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Lamar, the town this property stands in, in 27 storm reports between 1995 and 2019: 14 thunderstorm wind, 9 hail, 3 flash flood, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2017Tornado (EF1)Lamar$20,000An EF-1 tornado touched down at Lamar, with severe roof damage to a home.
July 2014Thunderstorm WindLamar$20,000A tree was blown down onto a car. No one was injured.
October 2009Thunderstorm WindLamar$15,000Large trees and power lines were down in Lamar.
April 2014Thunderstorm WindLamar$10,000Large trees were blown down.
June 2009Thunderstorm WindLamar$10,000Trees and power lines were blown down.
May 2013Thunderstorm WindLamar$1,000Large limbs were blown down.
March 2019Thunderstorm WindLamar-Trees were blown down in Lamar.
August 2018Flash FloodLamar-Flash flooding occurred on Arkansas Hwy 123 near the intersection of U.S. Hwy 64.
August 2018Thunderstorm WindLamar-Trees were down on Cabin Creek Rd. in Lamar.
August 2018HailLamar-Quarter sized hail fell in Lamar.
April 2017Thunderstorm WindLamar-A large tree limb was reported down.
March 2011HailLamar-The maximum hail size was 1 inch in diameter, but most of the hail was 1/4 to 3/8 inch in diameter.
April 2007Thunderstorm WindLamar-Numerous large trees were reported down. One tree fell on a mobile home. Part of the roof was blown off a chicken house.
April 2007Thunderstorm WindLamar-A truss manufacturing business was destroyed.
August 2006Thunderstorm WindLamar-Some trees were blown down.
June 2001Thunderstorm WindLamar-A few trees were blown down.
May 1998Thunderstorm WindLamar-Thunderstorm winds downed some large tree limbs.
July 1995Thunderstorm WindLamar-Thunderstorm winds blew the roof off a large metal building, destroyed a farm shed and knocked down trees around Lamar.
May 2013HailLamar-no account filed
June 2008HailLamar-no account filed
May 2007HailLamar-no account filed
November 2003HailLamar-no account filed
May 2001HailLamar-no account filed
June 1999Flash FloodLamar-no account filed
May 1999HailLamar-no account filed
May 1999Flash FloodLamar-no account filed
March 1998HailLamar-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Johnson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Munger House1.7 miles1996
Dover to Clarksville Road Road -Hickeytown Road Segment5.6 miles2005
Cabin Creek Bridge7.6 miles2023

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 99000228 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Johnson CountyAll 35 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.