BlockBefore

Pirtleville, Arizona

23 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1914 and the latest in 1994. It stands in the Douglas census division. It lies in ZIP code area 85607. The Survey maps it on the Douglas quadrangle. 1,412 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 3,970 feet above sea level.

Pirtleville within Cochise County

On record in Pirtleville

Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.

On the National Register within a mile 7 records

The National Register names another town for these. They stand within one mile of this settlement's coordinate.

Population over time

2 figures

Pirtleville fell from 1,744 to 1,412 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.

YearPeople Change
20101,744
20201,412-332 (-19%)

Topographic sheets covering this place

12 surveys from 23 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

71 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 71 fires within 5 miles of Pirtleville between 1992 and 2019, burning about 306 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 6 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined38
Natural8
Debris and open burning6
Arson/incendiarism6
Equipment and vehicle use5
Smoking5
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
15 September 1994Arson/incendiarismunder an acreArizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Officenot named
10 September 1996Natural1.0 acresArizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Officenot named
6 August 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State OfficeWATSON
4 August 2004Naturalunder an acreArizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State OfficeCOUNTY
22 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresElfrida Fire DistrictNOT NAMED
13 August 1993Smoking1.5 acresArizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Officenot named
10 August 1993Natural1.5 acresArizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Officenot named
5 July 2003Misuse of fire by a minor5.0 acresArizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State OfficeDAVIS MOUNTAIN

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Cochise County

Mines and quarries near this place

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Pirtleville: 3 plants, 2 past producers, 1 producer. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Copper, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gold, Tungsten. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
(Facility) Copper Queen SmelterCopper, Gold, SilverPlant
Mineral Reserves MillTungstenPast Producer
Paisano HydrometGoldPlant
(Facility) Douglas Copper SmelterCopperPlant
Cowan Pit No.1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Old English PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Cochise County

Storms near this place

6 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Pirtleville in 6 storm reports between 2006 and 2025: 4 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood, 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2012Thunderstorm WindPirtleville$25,000Thunderstorm winds downed numerous trees and power lines in Douglas. Power was out in parts of the city for over 2 hours. Winds also removed a portion of a roof from a business at 21st Street and I Avenue. Wind damage was more extensive across the border in Agua Prieta.
June 2020Thunderstorm WindPirtleville$20,000Thunderstorms winds caused considerable damage to a corrugated metal building used as a garage. While the vehicle inside the building only sustained small dents from falling lumber, only one wall of the building was left standing.
July 2006Flash FloodPirtleville$10,000A Sheriff's Department Official reported that a vehicle was stuck in a flooded roadway on Davis Road west of the Community of McNeal.
June 2025Thunderstorm WindPirtleville$5,000APS reported a power outage was around 10 pm at the intersection of Richie Rd and Rochin Rd due to strong thunderstorm winds causing broken wires. Time estimated by radar.
July 2024Thunderstorm WindPirtleville$5,000Downed power lines causing power outage to roughly 20 people.
July 2025FloodPirtleville$1,000Heavy rainfall caused the closure of Kings Highway at MP 5.1 near Douglas, AZ. A nearby gauge reported 1.15 inches of rainfall.

Every storm recorded in Cochise County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Douglas1.2 miles23
Calumet2.4 miles23
Forrest8.8 miles22
Paul Spur9.2 miles22
Double Adobe10.2 miles23
Cazador11.9 miles20
Bernardino (historical)16.9 miles19
Warren17.2 miles24

Elsewhere

Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.

Wikipedia article on PirtlevilleAn encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied.
Wikidata item Q2093699The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0).

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 9538. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.